Overlord / Well-Tempered Overlord, The
Album: Well-Tempered Overlord, The   Collection:General
Artist:Overlord   Added:Jan 2017
Label:Storm Tower Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2017-01-10 Pull Date: 2017-03-14
Week Ending: Mar 19 Mar 12 Mar 5 Feb 26 Feb 19 Feb 12 Feb 5 Jan 29
Airplays: 1 2 1 2 2 2 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 02, 2024: KZSU Time Traveler
Mission To Mars
4. May 15, 2020: KZSU Time Traveler
Buddhas Of Bamiyan
2. Jul 07, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
Give Up Your Dreams
5. Feb 21, 2020: KZSU Time Traveler
Mission To Mars
3. May 21, 2021: KZSU Time Traveler
Mission To Mars
6. Nov 08, 2019: KZSU Time Traveler
Mission To Mars

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2017-01-05
“The Well-Tempered Overlord” Overlord
Overlord’s latest album is brimming with high-energy, catchy power pop-rock in the style of songs that were cranked out by the songwriting factories of the 1960s and 1970s. That’s not a bad thing! Places such as NYC’s Brill Building and Don Kirshner’s Dimension Records relied on future superstars such as Carole King to craft hit songs. Overlord’s arrangements are fresh — never formulaic — with compelling lyrics, strong lead vocals, and rich harmonies. RIYL: New Pornographers, Destroyer, and chart-topping bands of the 60s and 70s.
— Francis

Recommended: 2, 1, 4, 6, 9. No FCCs detected.

1. (2:56) You’re Gonna Love This One – Jangly guitars and skittering synths in a bright, up-tempo pop-rock anthem. Melodic vocals. ****
2. (3:17) Mission to Mars – Straight-ahead pop-rock with a dynamic bass line and high vocal harmonies. Reminiscent of “Pleasant Valley Sunday” by the Monkees (a Carole King composition!). ****
3. (2:29) It’s a Travesty – Reverbed, surf-y guitars with tom-toms and vocals that are sung in point-counterpoint style. Guitars sound like old-fashioned Ventures (beach instrumentalists).
4. (3:38) Interior World – Well-mannered chamber-pop ballad with chime-y guitar and dazzling synth orchestration. ***
5. (4:25) Strange Fiction – Harsh, swirling, buzzy. Growling rocker. A bit out of place.
6. (2:54) Incredibly Human – Up-tempo rock with rich harmonies, march-like drumming and stingers at the end of each verse. Electric piano in lead break. **
7. (1:56) Buddhas of Bamiyan – Brief, bouncy and funky. Playful tune with fun synths.
8. (2:19) Posthumous Honors – Rapid-fire drumming and bass in a frantic punk style. Expertly picked guitar and repetitive synth. Ironic lyrics wail, “My whole life was a bad idea.” Also very short.
9. (4:36) Give Up your Dreams – Upbeat pop-rock anthem. Strummed electric guitar, and driving bass line. Big harmonies. **
10. (2:59) My Absence Will Go Unnoticed – 1960s poppy rock with a strong backbeat and endlessly rhyming vocals.

Track Listing
1. You're Gonna Love This One   6. Incredibly Human
2. Mission To Mars   7. Buddhas Of Bamiyan
3. It's A Travesty   8. Posthumous Honors
4. Interior World   9. Give Up Your Dreams
5. Strange Fiction   10. My Absence Will Go Unnoticed