Tobacco / Sweatbox Dynasty
Album: Sweatbox Dynasty   Collection:General
Artist:Tobacco   Added:Nov 2016
Label:Ghostly International  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2016-11-30 Pull Date: 2017-02-01 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Jan 29 Jan 22 Jan 15 Jan 8 Jan 1 Dec 25 Dec 11 Dec 4
Airplays: 1 3 1 1 2 2 3 1

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 09, 2021: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants (rebroadcast from Nov 9, 2021)
Fantasy Trash Wave
4. Jan 26, 2017: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
Human Om
2. Nov 09, 2021: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
Fantasy Trash Wave
5. Jan 19, 2017: Sound & Solidarity
Human Om
3. May 18, 2017: Sound and Solidarity
Home Invasionaries
6. Jan 19, 2017: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
Gods In Heat

Album Review
DJ Postnatal
Reviewed 2016-11-28
Tobacco is at it again with synthy, mind-bending melodies that at times don’t really have any melody at all. The mostly short tracks are crunchy, crackly, and heavily produced often with an industrial feel. There is beauty in the grating sound, though, and some tracks are intelligible to the less adventurous. Not my favorite of his albums, but still worth a spin!

RIYL Crystal Castles, Tycho, Com Truise, Hudson Mohawke
FCC clean (practically all of the lyrics are unintelligible)
Recommended tracks: 1, 4, 5, 10

1. (3:06) Like pulling the cord on your lawn mower in an autotuner. Slow, heavily modulated head-bobber.
2. (1:10) Twinkling and hand claps, skipping, synthy, wobbling.
3. (1:33) Grinding synth to start. Heavy metal-esque fuzzed vocals. Machine hum for last ~20 sec.
4. (3:22) Guitar line with an accessible melody in minor key, slowly descending. Dreamy.
5. (2:23) Changing tempos of echoey drum machines with ominous, breathy vocals. Heavy on the skittering synth.
6. (2:14) Electric guitar fuzzily rocks behind twinkling, reverberating scratching synth. Breathy, indecipherable vocals complement. Extremely cold end.
7. (2:33) Static plus dissonant, possessed vocals and synth, but with an identifiable melody. Midtempo, lighter on the production layers than other tracks.
8. (1:57) A bright, instrumental track with intense swells.
9. (1:10) Clappy, motory mess of mind-mushing industrial sounds!
10. (2:47) Vibrating synths with a plodding drum beat. Beautifully melodic, building into a lovely tune with a cold end.
11. (1:51) Chimes and rockin’ electric guitar make this seem poppy, aside from the ominous vocals.
12. (6:09) A longer track of mayhem for your listeners. Constantly changing smattering of melodies, as if they can’t decide on where the radio dial should be. Ending with static forever.

Track Listing
1. Human Om   7. Warlock Mary
2. Hong   8. Suck Viper
3. Wipeth Out   9. The Madonna
4. Gods In Heat   10. Fantasy Trash Wave
5. Home Invasionaries   11. Memory Girl
6. Dimensional Hum   12. Let's Get Worn Away