Jaar, Nicolas / Sirens
Album: Sirens   Collection:General
Artist:Jaar, Nicolas   Added:Oct 2016
Label:Other People  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2016-10-11 Pull Date: 2016-12-11 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Dec 11 Dec 4 Nov 20 Nov 13 Nov 6 Oct 30 Oct 23 Oct 16
Airplays: 4 2 1 1 2 3 5 4

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 22, 2020: soft boiled
Three Sides Of Nazareth
4. Nov 29, 2017: The Nick & James Show
2. Sep 04, 2019: dream sequence
The Governor, Killing Time
5. Nov 16, 2017: All Passion No Technique
Three Sides Of Nazareth
3. Jan 22, 2018: new year, new me
The Governor
6. Sep 30, 2017: The Prism Experiment
The Governor

Album Review
DJ Aporia
Reviewed 2016-10-07
Spacious, otherworldly organic house. The most experimental and political we’ve seen Nico yet. He brings in notes of post-punk, reggae, and synthesizer music to craft these bitter critiques of power that reside somewhere dense and overwhelming. They still maintain a lightness nonetheless—in the lulls, the near-silent ambient sections, the piano. Feelings of fear pervade throughout only to end in a kind of ironic sweetness. Remarkable. FCC on 6

1. (11:14) **** Killing Time—Extremely soft fade in, shattering piano and wind chimes. Sparse vocals. Forbidding.
2. (6:50) *** The Governor—Vocals, Rhodes piano, pulsating bass. Loud and urgent, weird transition from the previous but I like it.
3. (3:30) ** Leaves—Keys that sound like a zither to start, erratic ripples and drones, ends with a recording of a conversation in Spanish between a child and adult.
4. (6:34) *** No—Lyrics in Spanish, skittering reggae beat, strummed guitar and distorted keys. Crunchier noise in second half.
5. (9:55) **** Three Sides of Nazareth—Menacing, pounding beat and keys, harsh samples, lyrics in English. Reminds me of Suicide. Insanely catchy. Hissing ambient after four minutes before bringing back the samples and beat. “Lessons from a man that wore his pain like a list of all that he knew.”
6. (3:44) ** History Lesson—FCC “fuck”. Swaying doo-wop slow-jam. Biting lyrics that read like an ultra-condensed version of a history lesson. “Chapter one: We fucked up / Chapter two: We did it again, and again, and again, and again.”

Track Listing
1. Killing Time   4. No
2. The Governor   5. Three Sides Of Nazareth
3. Leaves   6. History Lesson