Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
Alex G / Dsu
Album:Dsu Collection:General
Artist:Alex G Added:Sep 2016
Label:Orchid Tapes 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2016-09-25 Pull Date:2016-11-27 
Week Ending:Nov 27Nov 13Nov 6Oct 30Oct 23Oct 16Oct 9Oct 2

 Recent Airplay
1.Nov 10, 2021:regular school (rebroadcast from Dec 3, 2018)
4.Dec 03, 2018:regular school
2.Aug 30, 2021:regular school (rebroadcast from Dec 3, 2018)
5.Oct 08, 2018:regular school
After Ur Gone
3.Apr 24, 2019:nearby galaxies
After Ur Gone
6.Feb 15, 2018:veggie tales

Album Review
DJ Aporia
Reviewed 2016-09-22 
Reissue of Alex G aka Spicy Boy’s first album on Orchid Tapes. DSU is short for Dream State University. This is “lo-fi indie” with strong influences from Pavement, Elliott Smith, and Youth Lagoon. There’s wobbly acoustic and electric guitars, feedback, keys, subtle percussion, and mumbled vox with a comforting sense of emo. Wonderfully unpretentious. Every song finds a way to sneak into your head without warning. FCC: 10

1. (2:21) ** After Ur Gone—Ringing, loud guitars, sweet mumbling double-tracked vox
2. (3:46) ** Serpent is Lord—Guitar noodling then layers of guitars and some feedback, Built to Spill
3. (1:40) Harvey—Rousing ode to friendship
4. (1:52) Rejoyce—Pitched-up drowned-out vox, guitars, minimal oddball weird in last minute
5. (2:44) **** Black Hair—Feedback to start, acoustic guitars and keys, feedback weaves through occasionally again... I love this endlessly
6. (1:26) ** Skipper—Lush strumming, floaty vox
7. (1:47) Axesteel—Loud, angsty, screamy sounds, listless sad vox, very lo-fi
8. (2:43) ** Sorry—Acoustic guitars, synths, regret, more prominent vox. Super similar to Beach Music, his most recent album
9. (3:32) ** Promise—Woah! Big change here. Bluesy guitar noodling, stomps, airy keys, awesome groove
10. (2:51) Icehead—FCC. Weird pitch-shifted vox, guitars, hollow beat, so incredibly emo
11. (4:04) Hollow—Starts out kind of folky then builds in those nice enveloping Elliott Smith flairs, intense feedback eventually builds
12. (0:42) Tripper—Messing around on piano
13. (3:11) *** Boy—Piano and acoustic guitars, intense. “I am not the boy you knew.”
14. (1:40) Soak (Bonus Track)—Lo-fi acoustic guitar and vox, simple
15. (3:30) Waiting for You (Bonus Track)—All instrumental piano and sax, mournful

Track Listing
1.After Ur Gone 8.Sorry
2.Serpent Is Lord 9.Promise
3.Harvey 10.Icehead
4.Rejoyce 11.Hollow
5.Black Hair 12.Tripper
6.Skipper 13.Boy
7.Axesteel 14.Soak (Bonus Track)
 15.Waiting For You (Bonus Track)