Sofi Tukker / Soft Animals Ep
Album: Soft Animals Ep   Collection:General
Artist:Sofi Tukker   Added:Aug 2016
Label:Ultra Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2016-09-05 Pull Date: 2016-11-07
Week Ending: Nov 6 Oct 30 Oct 23 Oct 16 Oct 9 Oct 2 Sep 25 Sep 18
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 2 2 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 08, 2018: Happy Hour
4. Nov 04, 2016: Time Traveler
Moon Tattoo
2. Sep 15, 2017: KZSU Time Traveler
Hey Lion
5. Oct 28, 2016: Time Traveler
Hey Lion
3. Jan 27, 2017: KZSU Time Traveler
Moon Tattoo
6. Oct 21, 2016: Time Traveler
Moon Tattoo

Album Review
Mr. Tumnus
Reviewed 2016-08-29
Alt pop. Maybe you could call it light electronic too. A new Brooklyn duo which has attracted a remarkable lack of attention from the big music players, even though a lot of people seem to be listening to their stuff. Don’t count on that to last. Guitar, synth, some great beats and a female voice which can contort itself in some cool ways when it feels like it. The songs are trippy, but not cluttered, which is a rare combo. This feels like the bleeding edge of cool. Lyrics are in English or Portuguese, but they save Portuguese for the grooviest stuff. The lyrics operate under a kind of dream logic. “Hey look, there’s a lion, that’s the king of the jungle, you don’t have to worship me,” etc. Strongly recommended.

No FCCs. Try 1, 2, 3.

1) “Drinkee” (4:59): Groovy af. Spoken-lyrics in Portuguese. Starts with a simple guitar riff--opens into some airy electronic stuff later on.
2) “Awoo” (3:17): Sharp piano melody, shimmering voices. Lyrics in English this time. Great changeup at the 2-min mark.
3) “Matadora” (4:02): Spanish guitar. Simple, straight beat. Portuguese lyrics again. Bit more stripped down--sleek.
4) “Hey Lion” (3:29): Bass guitar and melody faint in the background. Lyrics in English, addressed to a lion, operating under a kind of dream logic.
5) “Moon Tattoo” (5:48): Slower to open--feels nighttime. Wanting to dress in the moon and then take it off. Sultry.
6) “Deja Vu Affair” (5:00): All beat at first. Kind of conservative compared to the other stuff on the album.

-- Mr. Tumnus

Track Listing
1. Drinkee   4. Hey Lion
2. Awoo   5. Moon Tattoo
3. Matadora   6. Déjà Vu Affair