Perry, Al / 3 Track Session
Album: 3 Track Session   Collection:General
Artist:Perry, Al   Added:Aug 2016

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2016-08-15 Pull Date: 2016-10-17
Week Ending: Sep 4 Aug 28 Aug 21
Airplays: 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 05, 2019: Brownian Motion: The Jack Miller Special (sorta)
Told His Baby Goodbye, The Fire Of Love
4. Aug 18, 2016: a strange pursuit
The Fire Of Love
2. Aug 31, 2016: Brownian Motion
The Fire Of Love
5. Aug 17, 2016: Brownian Motion
Cold Hard Facts Of Life
3. Aug 24, 2016: a strange pursuit

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2016-08-09
Sun stroked western, classic covers, cow punk damaged. Al may be the most under appreciated musician in the world: Growing up in the shithole that's west Phoenix he escaped to the friendlier weirdo environs of Tucson where his band The Hecklers ripped psychobilly on bills with hardcore bands 35 years ago. A few years later Al went solo, twangy garage with whatever locals he could round up as his band, The Cattle. The latter have included a range of talent, from obscure junkies to superstars like the Calexico guys. This is a collection of covers Al recorded in a Phoenix recording studio that seconds as a museum of sorts: A rare three track tape machine from the 50's that harkened the birth of multitrack recording, used by people like Nat King Cole and Elvis. Songs are almost all country classics, dear to Al's heart, odes to his past loves and downfalls (I would guess, I didnt ask him). Fantastic stuff. See also what I consider his, a, masterpiece, "Always a Pleasure" (2003).

1) (3:01) slow strummy bluesy, "just a girl I used to know" 2)* (3:04) upbeat western "cold hard facts of life" quintessential cheating wife story 3) (2:22) "don't like it but I guess things happen that way" 4) (2:18) slow bluesy "you're making plans to leave". 5)* (2:30) "talk back trembling lips", upbeat despite lyrics, kitty Wells made this famous 6) (3:12) 60's shuffle to this, "white satin bed" 7)* (3:36) "crazy heart" taken down to a slow blues walk 8) (2:35) upbeat "ol' what's hername" 9) (2:02) baritone plucky twang, upbeat "thinking mans woman" 10) (2:39) "if teardrops were pennies" upbeat 11)* (2:28) big doom blues, cover of Gun Club classic "fire of love", rare fade out 12)* (3:05) upbeat drinking song "told his baby goodbye" 13) (2:10) triplet waltz love song to "Julie", sad stuff, of course a double murder suicide ends this. 14) (2:49) bluesy twang "just because"

Track Listing
1. Just A Girl I Used To Know   8. Whats'her'name
2. Cold Hard Facts Of Life   9. Thinking Mans Woman
3. I Dont Like It But I Guess Things Happen That Way   10. If Teardrops Were Pennies
4. Youre Making Plans To Leave   11. The Fire Of Love
5. Talk Back Trembling Lips   12. Told His Baby Goodbye
6. White Satin Bed   13. Julie
7. Crazy Heart   14. Just Because