Cloud Becomes Your Hand / Rest In Fleas
Album: Rest In Fleas   Collection:General
Artist:Cloud Becomes Your Hand   Added:Jul 2016
Label:Northern Spy Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2016-08-01 Pull Date: 2016-10-03
Week Ending: Oct 9 Oct 2 Sep 11 Sep 4 Aug 28 Aug 21 Aug 14 Aug 7
Airplays: 2 1 2 2 1 2 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 19, 2017: day tapes #2
4. Oct 05, 2016: a strange pursuit
2. Jul 18, 2017: Waste FM
Rest In Fleas
5. Oct 02, 2016: The Prism Experiment
Bridge Of Ignorance Returns
3. Oct 06, 2016: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants!
Made Of Teak
6. Oct 02, 2016: 1095320
Garden Of The Age

Album Review
Ray Futia
Reviewed 2016-07-29
Artist: Cloud Becomes Your Hand
Album: Rest in Fleas
This is a MIDI heavy album full of bizaare lyrics, weird textures, and composed dissonant and chromatic unison lines shared between guitars, synths, violins, and occasional horns. At times it feels a bit punk and at other times very trippy, theatrical, and orchestral (think Zappa).

RIYL: Devo, LCD soundsystem, Ariel Pink, Mac Demarco, Frank Zappa

Recommended Tracks: 1, 3, 5, 8
1. (3:49) Hermit*** – Fast and frantic with a bit of a punk feel. Strange, overdubbed spoken/shouted lyrics. Weird, chromatic unison lines with violin and surf-rock style electric guitar. Somehow a lot of different, disjointed moving parts come together to make a great whole.
2. (5:37) Bridge of Ignorance Returns – Even more frantic with a simple driving beat. Zappa-esque unison line with a bunch of weird synths. Distorted vocals and violin in unison. Stops and gives way to slow synth noodling around 30 seconds from the end.
3. (5:13)* Aye Aye – Instrumental. Slower but lurching. A standard mellow synth driven groove modulates into some dark, minor textures with interesting unison lines shared by a dobro (?) guitar and some synth. Breaks down about half way through. Gets even stranger as it progresses.
4. (1:24) Other Suns – Instrumental. Mellow gospel like organ over various, random sound effects.
5. (5:17)* Garden of the Ape – Driven by a weird meandering melody split between various different voices. Sinks into a nice, more traditional groove around a minute in. More strange lyrics. Breaks into various weird meters halfway through.
6. (2:52) Rest in Fleas*** - More strange overdubbed lyrics – this time they’re melodic. Nice unison horn lines. Slow organ interlude in the middle. A bit more accessible.
7. (3:12) Third Avenue Slime – Instrumental. Medium tempo with driving percussion. Dark, tense strings and guitar. Dissonant organ and guitar noodling.
8. (3:36) Made of Teak* – Upbeat. Female vocals. Very synth heavy with nice textures and melodies. Most accessible song on the album.

Track Listing
1. Hermit   5. Garden Of The Age
2. Bridge Of Ignorance Returns   6. Rest In Fleas
3. Aye Aye   7. Third Avenue Slime
4. Other Suns   8. Made Of Teak