Various Artists / Sameheart
Album: Sameheart   Collection:World
Artist:Various Artists   Added:Jul 2016
Label:Motema Music  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2016-07-19 Pull Date: 2016-09-18 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Aug 28 Aug 21 Aug 14 Aug 7 Jul 31 Jul 24
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 3 3

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 20, 2016: Celtic By Caronis
Red Velvet In Winter, Kana Maloundi, Somebody’S Knocking, Ala Ta Ye Tougnaye
4. Aug 10, 2016: Laptop Radio
Ala Ta Ye Tougnaye, Sweet World
2. Aug 21, 2016: Dj YJ's World Variety -Sampler
5. Aug 06, 2016: Music Casserole
Ala Ta Ye Tougnaye
3. Aug 16, 2016: DJ YJ's Cultural Tidbits: Third Culture Kid
6. Aug 05, 2016: World Sampler
Ghana, Sweet World

Album Review
Reviewed 2016-07-04
This album features soundtracks from “Same Heart”, a film that explores extreme child poverty around the world. Features multilingual tracks from artists around the world, including Ghana, Morocco, Senegal, and the US.

*Favorite tracks: 1, 3, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 16****(possible FCC)

Possible FCC in track 16, “hell”, but used in a literal context in a song promoting peace.

**1. (4:05) Ala Ta Ye Tougnaye: Lively, energetic voice, yet surprisingly therapeutic and soothing! A combination of modern guitars and traditional arrangement. Transitions into chorus format. Mystical, but with a cheerful twist, filled with hope! Backup male vocals towards the end.
2. (4:01) Somebody’s Knocking: Mystical atmosphere, wind intro, ambient sounds. Divine like chant, spiritual calling for nature, throughout the song. Almost like the singer is having a conversation with nature. Mixes well with percussion in the background. Really feels like somebody is “knocking” at your heart!
**3. (6:09) Kana Maloundi: Harp plucking during intro and throughout song. Powerful, raspy male vocal, followed by soothing flutes, and alternates. A reflection of a life moment perhaps? A call for peace?
4. (3:59) Nama: Sax + traditional percussion, fast paced beat! Energetic beginning. Xylophone/marimba style sounds + drums in background. Sax gives a jazz flavor to the song. Definitely a pick up in speed compared to previous songs! Will wake you up from your state of calmness/reflection and get you energized. Second half has lots of fast xylophone.
5. (5:45) Red Velvet in Winter: Instrumental piano track. A gloomy, somber theme throughout the song.
6. (6:33) Say La: A solemn cry to start. String bass plucking, Interesting use of synthesizers, song picks up in speed around 1 min mark.
**7. (3:52) Ghana: Violins, bass, guitar, some accordions. Overall cheerful instrumental track. Nice violin accompaniment! Song picks up in speed. Makes me want to visit the country of Ghana.
**8. (3:55) Longing: Instrumental track. Relaxing, calming sax intro. Slow, jazzy feeling. Piano fill in. Like taking a walk through a path, pensive, about the beauties of life. Makes you reflect. High sax towards the end!Percussion 9 beats
**9. (5:11) Flying Dombra: Nice string intro! Guitars and bass. Really cool female vocals with a simple repeating melody.
**10. (3:39) No Borders: By Malika Zarra, Moroccan born French American singer. Her songs usually include a mix of Arabic, Berber, and French. Jazz, with elements of traditional Moroccan styles.
11. (5:23) Spirit of Sound: Gloomy and mysterious! An adventure through a dark night. Lots of bass.
**12. (5:39) Houaria: Another song by Malika Zarra. Soothing intro chant. Later accompanied by piano chords and bass, with some guitar. Brings peace to your heart.
13. (5:40) Tanktified: Jazz piano instrumental. With a beat that makes you want to dance. Gets REALLY intense towards the end!
14. (4:01) Mean World: A passionate cry about the sorrows of the world. The saxophones and percussion seem to speak more than the words themselves, and the song intensifies, like a roller coaster and takes you on a wild journey of the difficult rumbles of life.
15. (3:05) All We Got: Hip hop in English. With synthesizer and beats. A song about perseverance, independence, and going through hard times..
**16. (5:15) Sweet World: **POSSIBLE FCC “HELL” ** Sound of the early morning aurora sounds, or perhaps nightfall? Dreamy, calm, birds chanting, hopeful. Traveling through the horizons. Lyrics deliver a message of hope for the world, of love, peace, and joy. Beautiful visions and aspirations for a more inclusive, sweet world. A nice wrap up song for an evening show!

Track Listing
 ArtistTrack Name
1. Awa Sangho Ala Ta Ye Tougnaye
2. Jaimeo Brown Transcendance Somebody?S Knocking
3. Ablaye Cissoko & Volker Goetze Kana Maloundi
4. Oran Etkin Nama
5. Geri Allen Red Velvet In Winter
6. Charnett Moffett Say La
7. Matuto Ghana
8. Lynne Arriale Longing
9. A Moving Sound Flying Dombra
10. Malika Zarra Noborders
11. Charnett Moffett Spirit Of Sound
12. Malika Zarra Houraria
13. Marc Cary Focus Trio Tanktified
14. Jaimeo Brown Transcendance Mean World
15. Kentyah, Brain Jackson, Mi Et Al All We Got
16. Jana Herzen Sweet World