Various Artists / [Coll] Saint-Saëns, Moussa, Saariaho: Symphony And Creations With Organ
Album: [Coll] Saint-Saëns, Moussa, Saariaho: Symphony And Creations With Organ   Collection:Classical
Artist:Various Artists   Added:Jun 2016

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2016-06-27 Pull Date: 2016-08-28 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Aug 7 Jul 10 Jul 3
Airplays: 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 06, 2019: KZSU At The Movies
Symphony No. 3 In C Minor, Op. 78, Adagio - Allegro Moderato (10:21)
4. Jul 09, 2016: Narnia
Poco Adagio (10:24), Symphony No. 3 In C Minor, Op. 78, Adagio - Allegro Moderato (10:21)
2. Oct 11, 2016: Clean Copper Radio
A Globe Itself Unfolding (10:59)
5. Jul 02, 2016: Music Casserole
A Globe Itself Unfolding (10:59), Allegro Moderato - Presto (7:28)
3. Aug 01, 2016: Mixed Up Class
Saariaho: Mann varjot, for organ and orchestra

Album Review
Gary Lemco
Reviewed 2016-06-26
Saint-Saëns, Moussa, Saariaho: Symphony and Creations with Organ
Label: Analekta, 2015
Reviewed 2016-6-15 by Gary Lemco
This album shows off Montreal’s Grand Organ Pierre Béique, with three compositions for organ and orchestra (Orch. Symphonique de Montréal, conductor Kent Nagano). Saint-Saëns’ 1886 Organ Symphony (in C minor, Op. 78) remains the most spectacular sonic combination of organ and orchestra, cast in two large mvmts that sub-divide into the traditional four. The 1st mvmt opening motif is constantly transformed and transposed throughout the work, a cyclical structure taking its cue from Beethoven’s 5th. The 1st mvmt’s constant motion fades into the 2nd mvmt’s broad and flowing melody, set over pedal points. The 3rd mvmt Presto dazzles by its swift motion and manifold colors, enhanced by the addition of two pianos. With a huge C Major chord, the finale erupts into a blend of organ and full orchestra, concluding in a blaze.
Organist Jean-Willy Kunz joins Nagano in the world premiere of Samy Moussa’s A Globe Itself Infolding (June 1, 2014), based on poetry of William Blake and the Tanakh. The composer blurs the color lines of the organ and orchestra, mixing the sonorities to create aural ambiguity.
The Orch Symphonique de Montréal commissioned Finnish composer Kaija Saariaho to write Maan Varjot. The 2014 piece is dedicated to the memory of composer Henri Dutilleux. Saariaho considers the work a concertante exercise in equality of parts, with the organ and the orchestra’s complementing each other. The orchestra indulges in micro-tonality, glissandos, and “noises,” while the organ maintains long notes and precise, controlled sonorities.
1. Saint-Saens: Symphony No. 3 in C Minor, Op. 78, Adagio - Allegro moderato (10:21)
2. Saint-Saëns: Poco adagio (10:24)
3. Saint-Saëns: Allegro moderato - Presto (7:28)
4. Saint-Saëns: Maestoso - Allegro (7:59)
5. Moussa: A Globe Itself Unfolding (10:59)
6. Saariaho: Maan Varjot, Misterioso ma intenso (5:26)
7. Saariaho: Lento calmo (6:30)
8. Saariaho: Energico (7:00)

Track Listing
 ArtistTrack Name
1. Saint-Saëns Symphony No. 3 In C Minor, Op. 78, Adagio - Allegro Moderato (10:21)
2. Saint-Saëns Poco Adagio (10:24)
3. Saint-Saëns Allegro Moderato - Presto (7:28)
4. Saint-Saëns Maestoso - Allegro (7:59)
5. Moussa A Globe Itself Unfolding (10:59)
6. Saariaho Maan Varjot, Misterioso Ma Intenso (5:26)
7. Saariaho Lento Calmo (6:30)
8. Saariaho Energico (7:00)