Rawlings, Dave Machine / Nashville Obsolete
Album: Nashville Obsolete   Collection:General
Artist:Rawlings, Dave Machine   Added:May 2016
Label:Acony Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2016-05-29 Pull Date: 2016-07-31
Week Ending: Jul 17 Jul 10 Jul 3 Jun 26 Jun 19 Jun 12 Jun 5
Airplays: 2 3 1 1 1 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 23, 2018: Traditions
The Weekend
4. Jul 09, 2016: The Iron Skillet
The Weekend
2. Jul 16, 2016: Old Fart at Play
The Trip
5. Jul 08, 2016: Kick Out The Blues
The Weekend
3. Jul 15, 2016: Kick Out The Blues
The Weekend
6. Jul 03, 2016: Life Aquatic
The Trip

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2016-05-22
The phenomenal singer-songwriter Gillian Welch trades the spotlight with her longtime musical partner Dave Rawlings for an album of easygoing and deceptively intricate folk. Joined by members of Punch Brothers and Old Crow Medicine Show, Rawlings and Welch play with loose professionalism as they roll through a languid, darkly-tinged American landscape. The arrangements are more embellished than on Welch's generally ultra-minimal work, but the record feels open and calm, led by Rawlings' airy tenor. Favorites: 1, 3, 7.

1. *(5:29)—Slow, upbeat, open-hearted. Absolutely beautiful choruses.
2. (6:44)—Slow, gothic (as in Flannery O'Connor, not The Cure). Wonderfully dark beginning, gets pepped up by dramatic strings.
3. *(10:56)—Slow. A quiet, pretty epic in the vein of Gillian Welch's “I Dream a Highway” (one of my favorite songs ever). Unwinds and unwinds...
4. (5:56)—Slow. Foreboding, pretty, minimal, lovely.
5. (3:38)—Mid-tempo, laid-back rockabilly.
6. (4:10)—Mid-tempo, sunny, written in the tradition of ultra-repetitive nonsense folk songs.
7. *(7:58)—Medium-slow, rambling. Wonderful harmonies all the way through.

Track Listing
1. The Weekend   4. Bodysnatchers
2. Short Haired Woman Blues   5. The Last Pharaoh
3. The Trip   6. Candy
  7. You Can't Go Home