Candace / New Future
Album: New Future   Collection:General
Artist:Candace   Added:May 2016
Label:Found Object Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2016-06-06 Pull Date: 2016-08-08
Week Ending: Aug 7 Jul 31 Jul 24 Jul 17 Jul 10 Jul 3 Jun 19 Jun 12
Airplays: 2 2 1 3 2 2 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. May 12, 2022: Stranded at Settembrini's
New Future
4. Aug 03, 2016: Brownian Motion
New Future
2. Aug 10, 2016: In The Year One Thousand, Eight Thousand: Miercoles Me Va Bien
Wasted View
5. Jul 30, 2016: Narnia
New Future
3. Aug 06, 2016: Narnia
New Future
6. Jul 30, 2016: Music Casserole
New Future

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2016-05-22
Candace are the same band as Is/Is. They changed their name, and they're still playing dreamy garage psych-pop. After performing with a rotating cast of drummers, founding members Sarah Rose and Sarah Nienaber moved from Minnesota to Portland, reconnected with their original drummer Mara Appel DesLauriers, and made this album. They've described New Future as their “most fully realized” record, which says a lot considering how great their previous recordings are. A lot of bands make music at a similar hazy/pretty/rocking axis, but Candace write exceptionally catchy songs, and their music sounds airy, warm, and warped in the most perfect ways. Favorites: 2, 4, 6, 7, 9. No FCCs detected.

1. (3:51)—Medium-fast. Propulsive tom beat, crunchy but not heavy.
2. *(3:37)—Mid-tempo, shoegazey. Nice low end on the choruses.
3. (3:32)—Medium-slow. Like a 60s psych-pop ballad drowned in amber. Nice harmonies.
4. *(5:00)—Slow. This song is perfect. An idyllic, submerged ballad that just keeps building and building. Oh my god, wow.
5. (4:56)—Medium-slow. Plodding, rocking in a low-key way.
6. *(3:43)—Mid-tempo. Pretty, light, with subtle warbling synth.
7. *(3:42)—Slow, luxurious, yearning.
8. (3:28)—Medium-slow, loping, with nice chorus harmonies.
9. *(3:44)—Slow and melancholy, building to a triumphant finish.

Track Listing
1. Wasted View   5. Wisdom's Limit
2. Rtz Baby   6. Midnight Blue
3. Fired Out   7. Forget The Colors
4. New Future   8. Mirror Bird
  9. Disappearing