Foxtails Brigade / Foxtails Brigade
Album: Foxtails Brigade   Collection:General
Artist:Foxtails Brigade   Added:Apr 2016
Label:Oim Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2016-05-23 Pull Date: 2016-07-24
Week Ending: Jul 24 Jul 17 Jul 10 Jul 3 Jun 26 Jun 12 Jun 5 May 29
Airplays: 2 2 2 2 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 26, 2016: Magnetized Toner: Summer Mix 1 (All Formats)
Nun But The Lost
4. Jul 14, 2016: Viewer Discretion Advised
Nun But The Lost, Perfect Execution
2. Jul 21, 2016: The Library
Nun But The Lost
5. Jul 13, 2016: The Library
No Fate
3. Jul 18, 2016: Viewer Discretion Advised
Don't Look Down
6. Jul 11, 2016: Viewer Discretion Advised
No Fate, Long Route, Dirt Bags And Dozers

Album Review
Squilhelmina Fancyson
Reviewed 2016-05-18
Chamber pop. Sugary birdlike female vocals, dainty plucking, and fiddling blended with dissonant swoops of electric guitar, drums, synths, and classical string instruments. Although sometimes saccharine, there are heavy undertones of tension and frustration throughout the whole album: The vocalist, although optimistic, doesn’t seem to be smiling at any point. Most of the songs sound very similar, although some are more dramatic than others.

Similar to early St. Vincent, Stars, Regina Spektor, Feist, poppy Andrew Bird


1. **We Are Not Ourselves (3:35) - steady, clock-like beat, builds up with uncomfortable string instruments and occasional additions by a wonky electric guitar
2. Perfect Execution (4:47) – more mellow guitar riff, some sparkles of synth
3. **Nun but the Lost (3:17) – the sugar-coated theme music of a TV show for toddlers, intercut with a more dissonant melody. Has a bit of chirping birds and brass instruments.
4. Dirtbags & Dozers (4:09) – more stripped down baroque beat, the vocals are like a lullaby
5. Long Route (3:09) – urgent plucking, metronome-like beat, more dreamy, ethereal vocals towards the end
6. **No Fate (3:08) – more uplifting, fun indie rock, music to run excitedly over a grassy hill on the first day of summer
7. *Last Still Standing (4:26) – sounds like the build up to something dramatic, strings falling apart in the background, features male backing vocals and synths
8. *Don’t Look Down (4:22) – starts with catchy plucking and drum beat, briefly features stompin n clappin, similar swirling string instrument additions to before
9. Watch Me (3:59) – the quiet, airy song, undertones of strength and resilience
10. Last of a Dying Breed (3:07) – another slower one, builds up briefly
11. Far Away and Long Ago (3:25) – starts slow, drums start to kick in, becomes a dramatic finale, then ends slow again

Track Listing
1. We Are Not Ourselves   6. No Fate
2. Perfect Execution   7. Last Still Standing
3. Nun But The Lost   8. Don't Look Down
4. Dirt Bags And Dozers   9. Watch Me
5. Long Route   10. Last Of A Dying Breed
  11. Far Away And Long Ago