My Robot Friend / Open The Book
Album: Open The Book   Collection:General
Artist:My Robot Friend   Added:Apr 2016
Label:Worried Rainbow Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2016-05-23 Pull Date: 2016-07-24
Week Ending: Jul 24 Jul 17 Jul 10 Jul 3 Jun 26 Jun 19 Jun 12 Jun 5
Airplays: 2 1 3 2 2 3 3 2

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 22, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
Open The Book (Feat Andre Williams)
4. Jun 30, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
2. Nov 24, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
5. Mar 31, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
Now I Know (Feat. Andre Williams)
3. Nov 10, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
6. Jul 29, 2022: KZSU Time Traveler

Album Review
DJ Postnatal
Reviewed 2016-05-14
At first I thought the genre of this album was similar to other issues from My Robot Friend, meaning electropop/rock. But as I got further and further into the record, I became more confused. This CD is manic! There are some noteworthy electro tracks, but there are some strange acoustic pop tracks thrown in too. It’s a shame, because the electronic tracks are so much more unique than the forays into more poppish territory. Still, creative lyrics and the more synth-based songs make this CD worth a listen or two.

RIYL Hot Chip, Fischerspooner
FCC clean
Recommended tracks: 3, 5, 7, 10

1. (4:22) A fast drumbeat and plucky guitar complement airy vocals lamenting a lost relationship.
2. (4:15) Strings with a moving beat and harmonic vocals.
3. (2:12) Short, dancey, synthy ode to 4-on-the-floor beats.
4. (2:36) Dime-a-dozen, poppy song about cheating. Could be in the top 40.
5. (2:33) Interesting lyrics with a catchy beat featuring a typewriter. I love literary puns!
6. (3:01) Country twang that makes me chuckle because the lyric “nickels” sounds like “pickles.”
7. (3:20) ’80s-style synth with pleasant male vocals singing about heartbreak.
8. (3:32) High-pitched vocals over a cute, twinkly beat.
9. (4:27) Acoustic guitar and harmonic girlish pop. What is this doing here? It’s like Bruno Mars somehow inserted himself into this record.
10. (5:16) An especially Hot Chip-sounding track with quiet vocals and a foot-tapping beat that builds into a vibrant synth.
11. (3:01) Dreampop wannabe track with twinkly triangles.

Track Listing
1. Goodbye   6. I'm Not A Young Man Anymore (Feat. Dean & Britta)
2. Emancipated Hearts (Feat. Dean Wareham)   7. A Practical Joke
3. 909   8. Now I Know (Feat. Andre Williams)
4. Creep (Feat. Andre Williams)   9. For You (Feat. Andre Williams)
5. Open The Book (Feat Andre Williams)   10. Shipwrecked
  11. Gone (Feat. Dean Wareham)