Pop, Iggy / Post Pop Depression
Album: Post Pop Depression   Collection:General
Artist:Pop, Iggy   Added:Mar 2016
Label:Loma Vista  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2016-04-25 Pull Date: 2016-06-26
Week Ending: Jun 26 Jun 19 Jun 12 Jun 5 May 29 May 22 May 15 May 8
Airplays: 3 1 2 2 5 2 3 1

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 16, 2023: Down in the Basement
4. Jun 25, 2016: Music Casserole
2. Dec 27, 2016: Magnetized Toner: Best Of 2016 Part 1
Break Into Your Heart
5. Jun 24, 2016: a strange pursuit
3. Jun 29, 2016: The Library
In The Lobby
6. Jun 23, 2016: a strange pursuit

Album Review
Telepathic Juan
Reviewed 2016-04-27
Legendary Michigan punker Iggy Pop has returned to absolute form with Post Pop Depression, his seventeenth solo studio recording and in my opinion, his best album since 1990’s Brick By Brick. With Joshua Homme from Queens Of Stone Age behind the production board, Iggy Pop’s new songs sound more refined and contemporary instead of just loud and wearisome as he has been sounding in countless previous recordings – the only exception could be The Stooges’ Ready to Die album. There’s also a persistent grim tone in the new compositions that brings to mind Nick Cave’s work.

RIYL: Iggy Pop! Queens Of Stone Age!

FCC WARNING: 2, 8, 9
Recommended Tracks: 1, 2, 3, 4, 7 and 9

1. (3:55) **Break Into Your Heart – Impressive opener. Crooner time. Medium tempo track.
2. (4:14) **Gardenia– FCC (Ass, shit). Another amazing song. Medium up-tempo. Part two of “Candy.”
3. (4:39) *American Valhalla– Medium tempo track. Melancholic. Good equilibrium between classic rock and current hard rock.
4. (4:15) *In The Lobby – Medium up-tempo recording. Stooges meets Queens of Stone Age. Metallic.
5. (6:07) Sunday – Medium uptempo track. NYC resurgence rock influenced here. Last two minutes of recording are a variation of the melody but in an orchestral arrangement.
6. (3:16) Vulture – Slow tempo acoustic tune. Vivid at moments.
7. (4:48) *German Days – Stooges meets Queens of Stone Age part II. Slick.
8. (3:58) Chocolate Drops – FCC (Shit). Medium up-tempo recording with sorrowful melody. Weird lyrics and a great backing vocal part.
9. (6:25) *Paraguay – FCC (Shit, fucking, motherfucking, etc). A peculiar track with a nice melody and a long a cappella introduction. By minute 3:11, the song changes intensity and rhythm. For the last two minutes, Iggy goes on a spoken word rant. Down with everything.

Track Listing
1. Break Into Your Heart   5. Sunday
2. Gardenia   6. Vulture
3. American Valhalla   7. German Days
4. In The Lobby   8. Chocolate Drops
  9. Paraguay