Holy Wave / Freaks Of Nurture
Album: Freaks Of Nurture   Collection:General
Artist:Holy Wave   Added:Mar 2016
Label:Reverberation Appreciation Society  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2016-04-25 Pull Date: 2016-06-26
Week Ending: Jun 26 Jun 19 Jun 12 Jun 5 May 29 May 22 May 15 May 8
Airplays: 1 1 2 2 2 4 3 3

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 08, 2017: Magnetized Summer (Late Night Session 2)
Western Playland
4. Jun 25, 2016: Music Casserole
Western Playland
2. Jul 15, 2016: Kick Out The Blues
She Put A Seed In My Ear
5. Jun 17, 2016: Kick Out The Blues
She Put A Seed In My Ear
3. Jun 30, 2016: In The Year 1000, 8000: Summer School (Session 1-16)
Western Playland
6. Jun 15, 2016: Kick Out The Blues
She Put A Seed In My Ear

Album Review
DJ Aporia
Reviewed 2016-04-24
A hazy, blush pink sonic dream for fans of '90s psych and swirling guitar tones. Holy Wave are a band from El Paso, Texas whose music fluidly combines surf rock sensibilities with ambling psychedelic guitars and layers of reverb. Freaks of Nurture unfolds warmly in a consistently lush, golden, sprawling psych rock journey. It was released on Reverberation Appreciation Society, a label that curates Levitation Fest in Austin. Holy Wave play Levitation this year and I very much see how their sound fits the festival.

RIYL Brian Jonestown Massacre, The Holydrug Couple, Melody's Echo Chamber, Tame Impala 'Innerspeaker'
Favorites: 1, 2, 3, 5, 6

1. (5:22) *She Put a Seed in my Ear—Mid-tempo. Direct, bright, round guitar tone. Plodding and patient. Sunny riffing and whistling synths at times. Urgent in its final minute.
2. (3:25) **Wendy Go Round—More uptempo with some less mellow guitar parts. Swirling guitars and organ riffs.
3. (5:09) **Western Playland—Whispery vocals about forbidden love. Vocals become gradually obscured by guitars and reverb. Gorgeously crescendoing, chiming guitar solos every so often. “I’ve been kicked out by doo-wop sisters." Bass gets crunchy at 3:25. 2:48 until the end is a sprawling, subdued psych jam. Love.
4. (2:27) You Should Lie—Uptempo and noisy yet retains those classic psychedelic synth sounds. RIYL Joanna Gruesome
5. (5:39) ***California Took My Bobby Away—Intro reminds me of early Tamaryn. Gazey, heavy, celestial. Slowly unfolds in melancholic waves of reverb. A Brian Eno take on dreamy psychedelic shoegaze.
6. (5:42) ***Air Wolf—Motorik beat featuring lots of reverb. Steadily picks up in tempo. Last 1.5 minutes are an epic feedback-drenched breakdown.
7. (5:29) Our Pigs—Upbeat, more twee melody.
8. (4:59) Sir Isaac Nukem—Violet synths and crashing metallic guitars. Brief noise breakdown towards the end before returning to the original melody.
9. (2:34) Magic Landing—Dark and churning. Black Rebel Motorcycle Club vibes + a vaguely darkwave background repeating guitar line.
10. (3:33) Minstrel's Gallop—More of what the first half of the album sounds like. Cool phaser effects at 2:15. Solid, if unadventurous, closer.

Track Listing
1. She Put A Seed In My Ear   6. Airwolf
2. Wendy Go Round   7. Our Pigs
3. Western Playland   8. Sir Isaac Nukem
4. You Should Lie   9. Magic Landing
5. California Took My Bobby Away   10. Minstrel's Gallop