Spalding, Esperanza / Emily's D+Evolution
Album: Emily's D+Evolution   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Spalding, Esperanza   Added:Mar 2016
Label:Concord Music Group, Inc.  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2016-04-18 Pull Date: 2016-06-19 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Jun 19 Jun 12 Jun 5 May 29 May 22 May 15 May 8 May 1
Airplays: 3 3 2 4 4 5 4 7

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 15, 2024: ModernTekNews
Good Lava
4. Nov 06, 2018: Clean Copper Radio & Hot Topics
Earth To Heaven
2. Mar 12, 2022: Music Casserole
Rest In Pleasure
5. Apr 17, 2018: Lucid Lightning: Power Hour
Rest In Pleasure
3. Jan 01, 2022: Music Casserole
Rest In Pleasure
6. Nov 16, 2017: Lucid Lightning: Power Hour
Rest In Pleasure

Album Review
DJ Teddy Tesla
Reviewed 2016-04-10
Esperanza Emily Spalding (born October 18, 1984) is an American jazz bassist, cellist and singer, who draws upon many genres in her own compositions. Spalding was raised in Portland, Oregon and was a musical prodigy, playing violin in the Chamber Music Society of Oregon at age five. She was later both self-taught and trained on a number of instruments, including guitar and bass. Her proficiency earned her scholarships to Portland State University and the Berklee College of Music.

She’s really dope, with a lot of the below songs having jazzy mellowish verses with large epic choruses. Play anything.
FCCs: None
RIYL: Her old stuff, slightly abstract jazz, female singers, good music

1. Good Lava (3:37) - A lot of guitar, a lot of moving parts, very loud upbeat, sounds like a more organized version of some abstract jazz
2. Unconditional Love (3:45) - A lot smoother, prettier, more traditional esperanza. Gorgeous Vocals
3. Judas (4:10) - Softer, driven by a strong bass line. Really nice melody
4. Earth to Heaven (3:51) - Guitar makes a return here. Staccato and rock-esque chorus, but the verses are pretty smooth
5. One (3:14) - Starts off pretty, but eventually drops into an epic vibe, but gets a bit jazzier after. Alternates between these two vibes. My favorite track.
6. Rest in Pleasure (4:58) - Repeated vocal sample builds up before it breaks with a nice bassline. There’s some nice jazzier guitar going on in the background. Towards the end the song amps up with the introduction of a lot of louder elements. A lot of vocal trills throughout
7. Ebony and Ivy (4:22) - Starts off with two voices sing/chanting. The actual song has some nice guitar and a jazzy feel, with a slightly more aggressive chorus
8. Noble Nobles (3:33) - Chill. Laid Back. Savage.
9. Farewell Dolly (2:07) - Pretty mellow backing instruments, just a bass and some drums
10. Elevate or Operate (4:02) - A lot of drums, guitar, crashing symbols to start. Jazzy drums though. Pretty jazzy overall.
11. Funk the Fear (5:06) - Distorted guitars and chanting to start. Even the normal guitar riffs after have a haunting vibe. The chants make a return
12. I Want It Now (2:50) - Basic, creepy sounding organ is the foundation of this song. There’s also a loud scream in the middle. Not too crazy about this one.

Track Listing
1. Good Lava   7. Ebony And Ivy
2. Unconditional Love   8. Noble Nobles
3. Judas   9. Farewell Dolly
4. Earth To Heaven   10. Elevate Or Operate
5. One   11. Funk The Fear
6. Rest In Pleasure   12. I Want It Now