Friedberger, Eleanor / New View
Album: New View   Collection:General
Artist:Friedberger, Eleanor   Added:Feb 2016
Label:Frenchkiss Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2016-02-07 Pull Date: 2016-04-10
Week Ending: Apr 10 Apr 3 Mar 27 Mar 20 Mar 13 Mar 6 Feb 28 Feb 21
Airplays: 3 1 1 2 5 1 1 4

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 13, 2017: KZSU Time Traveler
Never Is A Long Time
4. Apr 20, 2016: Kick Out The Blues
Because I Asked You
2. Jun 01, 2016: Kick Out The Blues
He Didn't Mention His Mother
5. Apr 13, 2016: Kick Out The Blues
He Didn't Mention His Mother
3. May 04, 2016: Kick Out The Blues
Because I Asked You
6. Apr 08, 2016: Time Traveler
Because I Asked You

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2016-02-06
“New View” Eleanor Friedberger
Third solo album from Eleanor Friedberger, half of the Fiery Furnaces along with her brother, Matthew. Her music is traditional, guitar-based indie rock, supplemented with organ — drawing on the proven rock formulas of the 1960s and 1970s, without being derivative. As she has evolved through her solo work, her style has become personal and conversational, with intelligent, insightful lyrics about life’s everyday smiles and disappointments. There are some great melodies on New View, and some pretty hot guitar licks as well — as Friedberger and band member, Malcolm Perkins, are both quite accomplished guitarists.
— Francis

Recommended: 1, 9, 6, 5, 11, 2. No FCCs detected.

1. (3:58) He Didn’t Mention His Mother — Starts with 4 seconds of tape machine spinning up. Catchy melody moves at leisurely jog with jangly guitar and mesmerizing rhythm. ****
2. (4:43) Open Season — Languid tempo with liquid guitar and sustained organ chords underscoring lyrics that sound like a letter to a long-lost friend or lover. Guitar solo in lead break. Segues directly into Track #3 on a chord downbeat. **
3. (3:01) Sweetest Girl — March-like rhythm and repeated lyrics in the verses. Big guitar, drums and backing harmonies in the choruses.
4. (3:42) Your Word — Storytelling lyrics backed with organ-driven melody, strummy acoustic guitar and measured drums.
5. (3:44) Because I Asked You — Funky, bouncy feeling created by Friedberger’s great guitar noodling and playful organ. Almost a Van Morrison feeling — especially with the short guitar solo. ***
6. (3:26) Never Is a Long Time — Mid-tempo ballad featuring fingerpicked acoustic guitar. Melancholy. ***
7. (3:26) Cathy with the Curly Hair — Fun change of pace. Snappy rhythm, synths swell, organ continues to lead in the choruses.
8. (5:47) Two Versions of Tomorrow — Another song that could be right out of the 1970s. Organ, sharp guitar, great bass line. Brief guitar shredding.
9. (5:07) All Known Things — Heartfelt, mid-tempo love song. Strummed acoustic guitar and jangly electric guitar. Synth. Great vocals. ****
10. (2:28) Does Turquoise Work? — Stately tempo. Starts as a simple tune, but builds almost Beatles-like, with its layers of sound and use of the organ, guitar, bass, and drums. Segues directly into Track 11.
11. (5:49) A Long Walk — Mid-tempo, piano-based tune with storytelling vocals and great interplay between guitars. Taken right out of the 1970s. Could be Dylan, Van Morrison or even the Allman Brothers. ***

Track Listing
1. He Didn't Mention His Mother   6. Never Is A Long Time
2. Open Season   7. Cathy With The Curly Hair
3. Sweetest Girl   8. Two Versions Of Tomorrow
4. Your Word   9. All Known Things
5. Because I Asked You   10. Does Turquoise Work?
  11. A Long Walk