Lanterns On The Lake / Beings
Album: Beings   Collection:General
Artist:Lanterns On The Lake   Added:Feb 2016
Label:Bella Union  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2016-02-14 Pull Date: 2016-04-17
Week Ending: Mar 27 Mar 20 Mar 13 Mar 6 Feb 28 Feb 21
Airplays: 1 1 3 4 3 5

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 26, 2016: Mix Tape: The Legacy Lives On
Send Me Home
4. Mar 06, 2016: Breakaway Bluff a Tribute to Leah
I'll Stall Them
2. Mar 17, 2016: Life Aquatic
The Crawl
5. Mar 06, 2016: Meow
Of Dust & Matter
3. Mar 12, 2016: Mix Tape: The Legacy Lives On
Stepping Down
6. Mar 05, 2016: Mix Tape: The Legacy Lives On
I'll Stall Them

Album Review
DJ Aporia
Reviewed 2016-02-13
Cinematic, sprawling songs that unfurl patiently and meander through ethereal layers of sound. Love and restlessness in the desert. Vocals sound like a mix of Emily Haines, Elizabeth Powell from Land of Talk, and Julia Holter.

RIYL Julia Holter, Land of Talk, Jesse Sykes & the Sweet Hereafter, Marissa Nadler
Favorites: 1, 2, 4, 7, 8
FCC Clean

1. (5:00) *Of Dust & Matter — Slow, eerie piano and languorous vocals. Freak folk. Reminiscent of Marissa Nadler. Lyrics about being passed out on the kitchen floor. Keyboards increase in urgency and variations at 3:20.
2. (4:07) ***I’ll Stall Them — More of a groove with her voice. She sounds like the vocalist from U.S. Girls here. Strings and synths come in at the middle. Grand and orchestral in a melancholic way.
3. (5:14) Faultlines — Uptempo. Fast keyboards and rushing sounds. Urgent and motorik with the repetitiveness of the keyboards.
4. (4:09) *The Crawl — Alt-country slow-burner. Opens with a mostly instrumental electric guitar and piano intro. Shuffling drums come in at 1:30. Concludes with a softer version of the same guitar line from the beginning.
5. (2:26) Send Me Home — Elegiac piano ballad with some synths in the latter half.
6. (2:56) Through the Cellar Door — Starts off slow and explodes into fast percussion and driving electric guitar at 0:50. Alternates between quieter and louder passages, especially marked by changes in the guitar line and drums.
7. (6:26) *Beings — Aquatic keyboards. Heavy reverb and layers of ethereal sounds. Like a more cinematic Julia Holter.
8. (4:23) *Stepping Down — Heavy, dreamy ambience punctuated by a repetitive synth melody. Eerie.
9. (4:35) Stuck for an Outline — Midtempo. Nice chiming guitars and some strings. Grows in restlessness until the end.
10. (1:52) Inkblot — Instrumental track.

Track Listing
1. Of Dust & Matter   6. Through The Cellar Door
2. I'll Stall Them   7. Beings
3. Faultlines   8. Stepping Down
4. The Crawl   9. Stuck For An Outline
5. Send Me Home   10. Inkblot