Morrissey, Flo / Tomorrow Will Be Beautiful
Album: Tomorrow Will Be Beautiful   Collection:General
Artist:Morrissey, Flo   Added:Nov 2015
Label:Glassnote Entertaiment  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2015-11-15 Pull Date: 2016-01-17
Week Ending: Jan 10 Dec 27 Dec 20 Dec 13 Dec 6 Nov 29 Nov 22
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 2 2 4

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 23, 2021: Music Casserole (rebroadcast from Dec 20, 2015)
If You Can't Love This All Goes Away
4. Dec 18, 2015: Time Traveler
Pages Of Gold
2. Jan 09, 2016: Mix Tape
Pages Of Gold
5. Dec 12, 2015: Mix Tape
Tomorrow Will Be Beautiful
3. Dec 20, 2015: Music Casserole
If You Can't Love This All Goes Away
6. Dec 11, 2015: Time Traveler
Tomorrow Will Be Beautiful

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2015-11-09
“Tomorrow Will Be Beautiful” Flo Morrissey
20-year Londoner Flo Morrissey’s debut release of ten dream-pop songs. Morrissey’s vocal style is lavish and cinematic, with the love ballads reaching torch-song-like dimensions. Her voice is crystalline and pure — amazing for someone so young. Unfortunately, the producer chose to do A LOT of orchestration that sometimes overwhelms the otherwise breathtaking performances. There’s an ages-old quality to many of the arrangements. She’s been compared to Joanna Newsom and Devendra Banhart, and in fact, used the producer who works with those artists to produce this album.
— Francis

Recommended: 2, 3, 10, 5. No FCCs.

1. (4:15) Show Me – Slow- to mid-tempo. Fingerpicked guitar. Piano. Soaring, swerving vocals.
2. (3:53) Pages of Gold – Mid-tempo. Nice folk-pop melody — most radio-friendly track. Jangly guitar. Strings. Harmonies. Sounds similar to First Aid Kit. ****
3. (3:51) If You Can’t Love This All Goes Away – Slow and delicate. Piano and harp — alone at first, then supported by full orchestration and backing vocals. ***
4. (3:27) Betrayed – Slow- to mid-tempo. Fingerpicked guitar and harp again, eventually buried under an avalanche of strings.
5. (3:47) Sleeplessly Dreaming – More folky. Strummed guitar. Vocals start in a lower register, then soar. Before the strings are added, the vocal performance is again reminiscent of First Aid Kit. **
6. (3:20) I Only Like His Hat, Not Him — Mid-tempo. Piano. Orchestra. Strummed guitar is less prominent. Swelling vocals.
7. (3:46) Wildflower – Swirling, bell-like and flowery. Song ties into her hippie-like cover photo with long straight hair and a choker decorated with a large daisy.
8. (3:59) Why – Piano. Orchestra. Very expressive vocals.
9. (4:14) Woman of Secret Gold – Mid-tempo. Stop-and-go strummed guitar. Vocals in low register. Then, orchestra washes over everything.
10. (4:02) Tomorrow Will Be Beautiful – Mid-tempo closer. Starts and ends with toy piano. Featured viola and orchestra. Piano. Exquisitely handled lead vocals. This one works well. ***

Track Listing
1. Show Me   6. I Only Like His Hat, Not Him
2. Pages Of Gold   7. Wildflower
3. If You Can't Love This All Goes Away   8. Why
4. Betrayed   9. Woman Of Secret Gold
5. Sleeplessly Dreaming   10. Tomorrow Will Be Beautiful