Chvrches / Every Open Eye
Album: Every Open Eye   Collection:General
Artist:Chvrches   Added:Oct 2015
Label:Glassnote Entertaiment  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2015-11-15 Pull Date: 2016-01-17
Week Ending: Jan 17 Jan 10 Jan 3 Dec 27 Dec 20 Dec 13 Dec 6 Nov 29
Airplays: 4 2 1 2 1 5 3 2

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 11, 2022: KZSU Time Traveler
Never Ending Circles
4. Nov 28, 2019: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
Bow Down
2. Dec 01, 2021: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants (rebroadcast from Nov 21, 2019)
Playing Dead
5. Nov 21, 2019: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
Playing Dead
3. Oct 01, 2021: KZSU Time Traveler
Leave A Trace
6. May 10, 2019: KZSU Time Traveler
Leave A Trace

Album Review
Reviewed 2015-11-13

This is the second full length record from Glasgow electronic indie-pop group
CHVRCHES (pronounced churches). The first album was one of my favorites of 2013
and I was super excited for this record. It is solid, but definitely didn't blow me away.
Worth listening to, but I was definitely more hopeful for this record and slightly let
down. Sounds like CHVRCHES, but nothing groundbreaking. RIYL: CHVRCHES and
Purity Ring.

Favorites: 1, 2, 4, 9, 14

1. (3:06) Never Ending Circles - This one is really good, huge sound, fuzzy synth, great melody, sounds like CHURCHES and it is pretty great.
2. (3:57) Leave a Trace - Mid-tepo, less voice effects, this is the first radio single, so it is adequately catchy and feel good, really like this one too.
3. (4:25) Keep You On My Side - Up-tempo, more 80s feeling synth sound, more of the same.
4. (3:51) Make Them Gold - The is the other one that I actually really like, sounds a lot like Purity Ring, good lyrics, another solid track and an epic sounding chorus.
5. (3:53) Clearest Blue - Not my favorite, pretty boring and a little whiney.
6. (3:39) High Enough to Carry You Over - This one sounds SUPER 80s, like the instrumentation but the male vocals are absolutely terrible.
7. (4:04) Empty Threat - Another dud in my opinion.
8. (5:10) Down Side of Me - This one is kind of cool, trappy beat, lyrics are bland.
9. (3:35) Playing Dead - This one is back to good CHVRCHES, huge sound great melody lots of layers.
10. (3:08) Bury It - Meh, same but not great.
11. (3:14) Afterglow - Downtempo and overly dramatic, could be the closing track to a modern adaptation of Dirty Dancing.
12. (4:40) Get Away - More male vocals on the chorus and the harmonies, and I wish that they weren't there.
13. (3:54) Follow You - Again, the male vocals, ug.
14. (4:38) Bow Down - Another solid track, possibly my favorite, sounds like the good version of CHVRCHES again.

Track Listing
1. Never Ending Circles   8. Down Side Of Me
2. Leave A Trace   9. Playing Dead
3. Keep You On My Side   10. Bury It
4. Make Them Gold   11. Afterglow
5. Clearest Blue   12. Get Away
6. High Enough To Carry You Over   13. Follow You
7. Empty Threat   14. Bow Down