Son Lux / Bones
Album: Bones   Collection:General
Artist:Son Lux   Added:Aug 2015
Label:Glassnote Entertaiment  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2015-08-17 Pull Date: 2015-10-19
Week Ending: Oct 4 Sep 27 Sep 20 Sep 6
Airplays: 2 2 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 14, 2021: Music Casserole (rebroadcast from Sep 26, 2015)
Change Is Everything
4. Oct 01, 2015: Audible Chocolate (10/1)
White Lies
2. Oct 23, 2015: A Visit From Drum (Sleep Dealer)
5. Sep 27, 2015: Electric Outlet: Unplugged
Change Is Everything, I Am The Others
3. Oct 02, 2015: Know Tomorrow Stanford featuring Al Gore
You Dont Know Me
6. Sep 26, 2015: Music Casserole
Change Is Everything

Album Review
Mr. Tumnus
Reviewed 2015-08-15
Electropop. Highly dramatic electronic music. Male voice, strained, passionate, occasionally joined by a chorus of women. There are plenty of drops and a lot of reverb—I think dubstep was probably an influence, although this isn’t dubstep. This music is sharp around the edges—highly angular, accented, with unpredictable rhythms. It’s also cheesy and over-the-top with puerile lyrics, which might be OK, depending on your mood. It feels hip and breathtakingly ambitious, and it also feels a little silly. If you have a soft spot for this sort of thing, this is gold.

Try 2 for starters. You’ll know immediately if you should listen to more.

1) “Breathe In” (0:51): Short intro. Nice little flurry of strings.
2) “Change is Everything” (3:05): Using highly edited voice as a beat—nice. Watch for a couple of big drops. Cool stuff in a high register.
3) “Flight” (3:21): Long build sequence to a nice chaotic chorus.
4) “You Don’t Know Me” (3:40): More sparse, more ominous. “You don’t know me at all.” Female and male voices.
5) “This Time” (3:51): Non-western sounding little groove. Leaves room for some of the instruments to improvise in almost a jazzy fashion.
6) “I am the Others” (4:45): Quiet focused beginning. “You are the most fortunate one.” Repetitive.
7) “Your Day Will Come” (3:22): Thoughtful beginning with some piano. Appalling chorus: “From deep inside you, your day will come.”
8) “Undone” (4:21): Interesting rhythm underscored by African drums. Voice is less important here—just sort of an instrumental throb.
9) “White Lies” (4:58): Gentle pizzicato from strings at beginning. Long build—elements gradually being added to the female voice. Opens up into a sharp little dance beat at the end.
10) “Now I Want” (4:03): Beat thumping in an echo chamber. Slow, methodical. Sounds more like a chorus of female voices: “Now I want to be free.”
11) “Breathe Out” (3:00): Long ghostly lead-in, heavy on the reverb. Voice and strings. “Breathe in breathe out.”

--Mr. Tumnus

Track Listing
1. Breathe In   6. I Am The Others
2. Change Is Everything   7. Your Day Will Come
3. Fight   8. Undone
4. You Dont Know Me   9. White Lies
5. This Time   10. Now I Want