Deaf Wish / Pain
Album: Pain   Collection:General
Artist:Deaf Wish   Added:Aug 2015
Label:Sub Pop Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2016-01-20 Pull Date: 2016-03-20
Week Ending: Mar 20 Mar 6 Feb 28 Feb 21 Feb 14 Feb 7 Jan 31 Jan 24
Airplays: 4 1 4 1 3 3 3 4

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 19, 2016: The Snotty The Kitten Show
4. Mar 16, 2016: The Snotty The Kitten Show
2. Mar 17, 2016: In The Year One Thousand, Eight Thousand [W16H]
5. Mar 13, 2016: Breakaway Bluff
The Whip
3. Mar 17, 2016: Life Aquatic
6. Mar 03, 2016: All Passion No Technique

Album Review
Telepathic Juan
Reviewed 2016-01-12
Melbourne’s Deaf Wish makes no attempt to disguise their roots. For their fourth album, Pain, Deaf Wish let their songs be possessed by the sound of mid-1980’s American indie rock icons such as Sonic Youth and The Replacements, eliciting at first discomfort, then confusion, and finally curiosity. Pain first reads like a compilation album where several bands get together to pay tribute to their late 20th century American college radio heroes, then you discover that it is one band that has three singers and everyone has their own sound. Sometimes post-hardcore or more like a Replacements kind of rough melodic punk, and other times, they sound like a reincarnated Sonic Youth, even playing both Kim’s and Thurston’s vocal parts to an eerie similarity. Cultural experimentation? Sound searching? Plain appropriation? You be the judge.

RIYL: Sonic Youth, Hüsker Dü, Dinosaur Jr., Meat Puppets, and The Replacements.

Recommended Tracks: 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, and 8

1. (3:46) The Whip – Repetitive one chord guitar strumming and some uncommitted vocals. Kind of NY no wave approach. Loud ending.
2. (1:12) *Newness Again – Fast tempo punker – 1980’s American hardcore punk style.
3. (1:26) They Know – Another upbeat rocker tune – part glam rock, part 1980’s Sonic Youth. Guitars forever.
4. (2:42) *Sunset’s Fool – Think Sonic Youth’s Daydream Nation period. Speechless.
5. (2:04) **Eyes Closed – FCC (fucking). Hüsker Dü impression. Effective and consumable. Fucking guitars!
6. (2:41) **Pain – Stooges meets early Replacements. Agitated punks here. Yeah!
7. (2:26) *Sex Witch – The fascination with Daydream Nation continues. Kim Gordon’s tribute. Eerily amazing.
8. (2:40) **On – Another Sonic Youth spin-off here. The best on the whole album!
9. (6:32) Dead Air – Semi-instrumental punker with some spoken word message at the beginning. Yes, more Sonic Youth blueprints used here.
10. (5:00) Calypso– Medium tempo tune a la Live Skull. New York should be proud.

Track Listing
1. The Whip   6. Pain
2. Newness Again   7. Sex Witch
3. They Know   8. On
4. Sunset's Fool   9. Dead Air
5. Eyes Closed   10. Calypso