Lindy Vision / Luck + Life
Album: Luck + Life   Collection:General
Artist:Lindy Vision   Added:Aug 2015

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2015-10-05 Pull Date: 2015-12-07
Week Ending: Nov 15 Nov 8 Nov 1 Oct 25 Oct 18 Oct 11
Airplays: 1 2 2 1 5 1

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 12, 2015: radio seven
4. Oct 27, 2015: subwoofer etc
Luck And Life
2. Nov 06, 2015: Magnetized Toner
Stop Moving
5. Oct 25, 2015: Breakaway Bluff
Last Call, Last Shot
3. Nov 05, 2015: Funk to Fiddle
White Horse
6. Oct 23, 2015: In The Year One Thousand, Eight Thousand [FQ154x4PT2!]
Luck And Life

Album Review
jessica rylan
Reviewed 2015-10-03
Luck + Life is the debut full-length from Albuquerque-based Lindy Vision. The trio of the Cuylear sisters produce a post-punk/new wave sound reminiscent of early Sleater Kinney and The Strokes (and, in a different way, The Shaggs), with wailed (sometimes atonal) vocals, synthesizer substituted for rhythm guitar, a mix of live drums and drum machines, and lead guitar on top. There is some great raw passion and unconventional harmonies here, and occasionally the songs really get under your skin. But unfortunately the lack of formal musical training is evident from the extremely repetitive song structures, and the monotonous guitar playing. While this would have made a better EP than full-length, if you take it a track at a time, it’s pretty great!

FCCs: 4
Faves: 3, 4, 7, 2, 1, 8

1. Passionate and insistent, “I’ve got just 20 dollars to my name”
2. More Strokes-like, chorus drags you in
3. A bit slower and more introspective, bittersweet SK vibe
4. Fave song, great rhythmic variation in the vocals, but FCC (“fuck” several times)
5. Ominous synth part in verses, decent chorus, dreadful guitar
6. Most atonal vocals, not sure where the melody is
7. Great electronic tom sounds, off-kilter guitar, really like this one
8. Slower, feels like getting dragged through someone’s emotional baggage, hard to let go of
9. Even slower, creative synth at the start, lyrics about wanting to hide with and protect a lover
10. mid-tempo, weird melodies that actually work, not bad

Track Listing
1. White Horse   6. Lonely Hearts
2. Last Call, Last Shot   7. Stop Moving
3. Chariots   8. Never Grow Up
4. Luck And Life   9. Fever
5. I Say Hello   10. One