Engel, Teufel, Tango! / Ensemble De La Plata Spielt Astor Piazzolla
Album: Ensemble De La Plata Spielt Astor Piazzolla   Collection:World
Artist:Engel, Teufel, Tango!   Added:Jun 2015

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2015-06-26 Pull Date: 2015-08-28 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Aug 23 Aug 16 Aug 9 Aug 2 Jul 26 Jul 19 Jul 5 Jun 28
Airplays: 3 1 1 2 1 2 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. May 14, 2024: The Mystery Machine
4. May 15, 2021: Rebroadcast: Music Casserole
Balada Por Un Loco
2. Jul 10, 2021: Music Casserole (rebroadcast from Aug 22, 2015)
Balada Por Un Loco
5. Aug 22, 2015: Music Casserole
Balada Por Un Loco
3. Jun 26, 2021: Music Casserole (rebroadcast from Aug 8, 2015)
6. Aug 20, 2015: Clean Copper Radio
Yo Soy Maria

Album Review
Reviewed 2015-06-27
– General Description:
The Ensemble de la Plata is a professional Tango Ensemble that mainly specializes in the music of Astor Piazzolla (1921-1992) on the following instruments: strings, accordion, piano, guitar and vocals. This is a superb CD and not at all what you would expect because it is not tango music in the ordinary sense. The compositions are captivating and complex with top-notch playing by all the musicians. The vocals (when used) are best when dramatic, only faltering in the last piece (Che Tango Che).
– FCC Compliant: YES
1. (3:21) Yo Soy Maria - upbeat and fun; nice vocals
2. (5:13) Suite Del Angel: Introduccion al Angel - slow and mysterious intro, breaks into a faster sexy tango, then back to slow
3. (6:24) Suite Del Angel: Milonga del Angel - relaxed continuation of previous theme, night time at the cafe, slowly builds and falls back
4. (3:35) Suite Del Angel: La Muerte del Angel - fast; pace picks up and builds, marching and fuller in orchestration, then relaxes again, then returns to determination and dramatic ending
5. (4:55) Double Concerto (Introduccion) - very spare and delicate composition
6. ***(5:56) Double Concerto: Milonga - wonderful fleshing out of the intro, again spare and moving, then becoming happy and festive, then back to spare
7. (6:49) Double Concerto: Tango - pace picks up again, very syncopated theme walking up the scale, then relaxing again, builds to dramatic ending
8. ****(5:11) Balada Para Un Loco - talking over music, then she starts singing; very much in the Kurt Weill vein
9. ***(2:39) Serie Diabolica: Vayamos al Diablo - syncopated fast moving piano motive accented with percussion and then strings; really nice and evil sounding
10. (6:46) Serie Diabolica: Romance del Diablo - airy, relaxed and sinister in a Vertigo sort of way
11. (4:08) Serie Diabolica: Tango del Diablo - sharp wake-up call after the previous, various dramatic attacks from all instruments, throw down ending
12. (2:41) Che Tango Che - vocals added; Broadway-sounding

Track Listing
1. Yo Soy Maria   7. Tango
2. Induccion Al Angel   8. Balada Por Un Loco
3. Milonga Del Angel   9. Vayamos Al Diablo
4. La Muerte Del Angel   10. Romance Del Diablo
5. Introduccion   11. Tango Del Diablo
6. Milonga   12. Che Tango Che