Cleveland, Shana & The Sandcastles / Oh Man, Cover The Ground
Album: Oh Man, Cover The Ground   Collection:General
Artist:Cleveland, Shana & The Sandcastles   Added:May 2015
Label:Suicide Squeeze Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2015-07-06 Pull Date: 2015-09-07
Week Ending: Sep 13 Aug 30 Aug 23 Aug 16 Aug 9 Aug 2 Jul 26 Jul 19
Airplays: 1 3 1 1 1 1 2 4

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 07, 2017: Magnetized Toner
Sucking Stones
4. Nov 13, 2015: In The Year One Thousand, Eight Thousand [FQ157]
Holy Rollers
2. Jan 28, 2016: In The Year One Thousand, Eight Thousand [W16C]
Holy Rollers
5. Oct 16, 2015: In The Year One Thousand, Eight Thousand [FQ153]
Sucking Stones
3. Dec 17, 2015: In The Year One Thousand, Eight Thousand: Best of 2015 [FQ1511-1]
Golden Days
6. Sep 06, 2015: Meow After Midnight
Golden Days

Album Review
Reviewed 2015-07-01
Understated fem indie folk.
Lead singer of La Luz delivers a low-key, acoustic solo album driven by her fingerpicking prowess and velvety, delicate yet casual and self-carrying voice. According to her this record is about “being inside your own head all the time in the outside world.” The discordance and careful spacing in her guitar work is the star here, creating sub-tension that contrasts with her overall lush and laid-back folk sound. Most songs have added depth from tambourine/piano/string layers.
FCC Clean. Try 4, 6, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13.
RIYL Cat Power, Beck’s Sea Change, Bill Callahan, Angel Olsen, spare folky stuff

1. (3:32) slow. drawling/twangy, sparse w/ tambourines to contrast soft vocals.
2. (3:46) mid. nice pace, more energetic vocal melody layered over driving piano and fingerpicking.
3. (3:06) slow. meandering, beautiful string piece, sad but not sappy, “my love could bury us whole”
4. *(2:38) mid. soft off-beat percussion and strong catchy riff repeats, mysterious lyrics come in gradually, ends on a question mark
5. (3:11) slow. soft guitar. restrained. not as lush as other tracks.
6. **(2:46) slow. perfect track… imagine sunsets and honey-colored “golden days”… gorgeous strings and melody
7. (0:47) instrumental interlude of fingerpicking. innocent at first, then ominous. called “death riff.”
8. (1:55) slow. short, but interesting, subtle alluring drama and mystery
9. *(3:33) slow. reminds me of #6 at first. gentle yet playful, tinkling piano. angelic descending vocal harmonies. very Cat Power.
10. **(2:52) slow. slightly gloomy, winsome, gentle horn intro and keys @ bridge remind me of Belle and Sebastian
11. *(3:27) slow. starts out the saddest thing, haunting background calls, but adds a ray of hope as it goes on. really lovely.
12. *(2:19) mid. vocals right in. countryish. flashes of piano. Cat Power …
13. *(4:44) slow. dark, shadowy guitar. open landscapes that feel like closed doors. “come on darling, rest a while/ I can see there’s trouble on your mind.”

Track Listing
1. Butter & Eggs   7. (Death Riff)
2. Holy Rollers   8. Spatm
3. Oh Man, Cover The Ground   9. Rounding The Block
4. Itching Around   10. City To City
5. Potato Chips   11. Sucking Stones
6. Golden Days   12. Quiet As Skin
  13. Change In The Ocean