What Tyrants / No Luck
Album: No Luck   Collection:General
Artist:What Tyrants   Added:Apr 2015
Label:Forged Artifacts  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2015-05-15 Pull Date: 2015-07-17
Week Ending: Jun 7 May 31 May 24
Airplays: 1 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 03, 2015: The Fishbowl: Thalassophobia
Feeling Alright (I'm Okay)
4. May 23, 2015: Buford J. Sharkley Presents: As Told to Hervey Okkles
Far Out
2. May 30, 2015: Distractions
Feeling Alright (I'm Okay)
5. May 21, 2015: Pentagonal Banana
3. May 25, 2015: No Way To Say
Blue In The Face
6. May 21, 2015: Meow
Far Out

Album Review
Mr. Tumnus
Reviewed 2015-04-28
Garage rock/surf rock/fuzz rock. Drums, guitar, bass guitar, voice. It sounds like what you would get if a bunch of your buddies from high school got together and smashed up a few tracks. There’s a looseness and openness on this album. Unfortunately, in this case “looseness” extends to a lack of artistic clarity and finesse, and even though the artists seem sincere, I’m not sure they’re saying very much. Many of these tracks are underdeveloped; they bounce along for a couple minutes and then end where they began. The album is also low-energy for garage rock—I think they would have benefited from some more up-tempo tracks. Nevertheless, there’s a few tracks here that I intend to play. 4 is the best I think by far.

Recommended: 4, 8, 12

1) “Far Out” (2:34): Straightforward garage-y stuff.
2) “Muffins” (2:34): (FCC: goddamn?): Same as #1.
3) “No Luck” (2:28): (FCC: motherfucker): Cool drumroll at the beginning, but otherwise not much to say about this track.
4) “Feeling Alright (I’m Okay)” (3:54): Easier to understand the words here, and the bass guitar plays a groovy little beat. More interesting rhythms. Nice.
5) “Lean on the World” (1:52): (FCC: fuck) Repetitive guitar riff.
6) “Dancehall No. 2” (1:31): A bit more up-tempo, nice energy. Could have been a bit more developed.
7) “4’s and 5’s” (2:28): (FCC: shit) Kind of a nice groove here.
8) “Scuzz” (1:44): Good high-energy stuff, pretty relentless. Good fit for a high-energy punky set.
9) “Modern Man” (1:28): I really don’t like this. Fragmented.
10) “What Chu Want?” (3:16): Promising beat that doesn’t go anywhere.
11) “Shag” (3:28): (FCC: fucking) A little funkier, which is nice.
12) “Blue in the Face” (3:26): Great poppy little guitar makes this song go.
13) “Fuzz Trip” (3:04): Slightly trippy chorus.

--Mr. Tumnus

Track Listing
1. Far Out   7. 4s & 5s
2. Muffins   8. Scuzz
3. No Luck   9. Modern Man
4. Feeling Alright (I'm Okay)   10. Watchu Want?
5. Lean On The World   11. Shag
6. Dancehall No. 2   12. Blue In The Face
  13. Fuzz Trip