Montropo / Follow Me
Album: Follow Me   Collection:General
Artist:Montropo   Added:Apr 2015

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2015-04-24 Pull Date: 2015-06-26
Week Ending: May 17 May 10 May 3
Airplays: 2 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. May 15, 2015: ZoeRadio
All Grown Up
4. May 01, 2015: Time Traveler
Letter To Mary
2. May 14, 2015: Mountain Music
Together And Alone
5. Apr 30, 2015: Meow
In A Shade
3. May 07, 2015: The Peninsula Report
In A Shade

Album Review
Zoe Rogers
Reviewed 2015-04-24
This is the debut album from Montropo. It is really really special. Andrés Diaz, the front man, is a classically trained guitarist and so the songs are all really interesting and really beautiful instrumentally. Genre-wise, this would be indie-folk and many of the tracks feel like they were recorded in the 60s/70s. RIYL: Cat Stevens, Love, Sufjan Stevens, The Kinks.


Favorites: 2, 4, 7, 11, 13; but you can really choose any, so good start to finish

1. (2:48) Follow Me - A bit dark but very pretty, very vintage folk vibe.
2. (3:16) In A Shade - Love love this one, beautiful, the melody is timeless, reminds me of a Love song.
3. (3:02) Brother, Stay - Upbeat, more 60s folk feel, love his voice.
4. (4:14) Letter To Mary - You can hear his classical guitar training on this one. RIYL: Decemberists.
5. (2:49) A Woman So Kind - Beautiful love song.
6. (3:05) There Must Be - Down tempo, beautiful guitar plucking, simple, great.
7. (2:55) All Grown Up - This one feels like a more current indie-folk track, love love it.
8. (3:51) Cathedral - Another one where the classical guitar playing is palpable, awesome and almost medieval feeling.
9. (3:51) Helios - Mid tempo vintage folk.
10. (3:30) Something To See - Mid tempo love song.
11. (3:22) Together And Alone - Another one of my favorites, beautifully urgent, heartbreaking, a great song. "I tried to believe, that i could only deceive myself, i wanted to leave, but i could only repeat myself, and lie down there with you again."
12. (4:09) Bessie - Down tempo and darker.
13. (3:11) Come Away - Mid tempo and upbeat to close out the record, super cute, great close.

Track Listing
1. Follow Me   7. All Grown Up
2. In A Shade   8. Cathedral
3. Brother, Stay   9. Helios
4. Letter To Mary   10. Something To See
5. A Woman So Kind   11. Together And Alone
6. There Must Be   12. Bessie
  13. Come Away