Colleen / Captain Of None
Album: Captain Of None   Collection:General
Artist: Colleen   Added:Apr 2015
Label: Thrill Jockey Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2015-04-10 Pull Date: 2015-06-12
Week Ending: Jun 7 May 31 May 24 May 17 May 10 May 3 Apr 26 Apr 19
Airplays: 3 1 1 1 5 5 5 3

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 20, 2021: Rebroadcast: Music Casserole
Holding Horses
4. Jun 03, 2015: Brownian Motion
Holding Horses
2. Jun 04, 2015: Meow
Holding Horses
5. May 28, 2015: A Visit From Drum
I'm Kin
3. Jun 04, 2015: A Visit From Drum
Captain Of None
6. May 21, 2015: A Visit From Drum

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2015-04-08
One woman band: Truly masterful compositions using organic instruments (pitz bass/cello, congas) with tasteful analog synth tones echoed and layered looped (nothing guit/bass/drums about this). Female artist who lends breathy vocs tastefully (not gratuitous breathy like so many). Impossible to classify but fans of Grouper, early His Name Is Alive will not want to miss. Really masterful use of echo/looping. 5th release by French artist.

1)* (5:11) very sublime, dreamy and tinkly, atmospheric yet organic w pitz stringed instruments
2) (6:06) vocs appear amidst a more urgent musical feel, still dreamy
3) (6:05) congas appear emphasizing a subtle tribalism, more urgent with looper vocs and some killer tape effects
4) (3:40) really nice echoed bass, harmonium melodies, instrumental
5)* (6:39) pretty pitz cello doubled up and looped heavily and masterfully
6) (4:55) musical and almost bright and cheery hillbilly with the 5th notes bass line, instrumental
7) (4:00) another bass line led tune this one w vocals, slightly dark feel
8) (5:58) urgent bright, vocs, pretty and accessible melodic, belies slight tribalism in rhythms.

Track Listing
1. Holding Horses   5. Lighthouse
2. I'm Kin   6. Soul Alphabet
3. This Hammer Breaks   7. Eclipse
4. Salina Stars   8. Captain Of None