Colleen Green / I Want To Grow Up
Album: I Want To Grow Up   Collection:General
Artist:Colleen Green   Added:Mar 2015
Label:Hardly Art  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2015-03-27 Pull Date: 2015-05-29
Week Ending: May 31 May 24 May 17 May 10 May 3 Apr 26 Apr 19 Apr 12
Airplays: 1 2 3 1 2 3 3 2

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 09, 2021: Virutally Happy
It's Nice to be Nice
4. Nov 02, 2017: butterscotch memory: run for cover
2. Feb 13, 2019: The Fuzz Deli
5. May 31, 2017: The Fuzz Deli
3. Feb 14, 2018: The Fuzz Deli
6. Apr 20, 2017: alternative energy.
Time In The World

Album Review
Reviewed 2015-03-27
Power Pop Punk / Lo-fi / Indie Rock. Third full length by Colleen Green and loving tip of her hat to DESCENDENTS. Released on Hardly Art. Most tracks are sugary power pop punk with fantastic lyrics. Definitely worth a careful listen on tracks like Pay Attention, TV, Deeper than Love, and Things that are Bad for Me 1 and 2. The gist is she’s got anxiety, makes poor decisions, and wants to do something about it… but it’s hard. RIYL: La Sera, The Babies, Girls, Dum Dum Girls.

1. (3:43) I want to grow up. Slow, guitar driven, power pop punk. Taking herself to task for her poor behavior.
2. (3:15) Wild one. * Insanely catchy and fun. Lyrics are kind of annoying… angst and frustration over a boy.
3. (3:10) TV. ** Veg out in your room. Mid paced power pop.
4. (2:46) Pay attention. ** Love this song. “I can’t ever pay attention / to anything you ever say to me”
5. (6:05) Deeper than love. FCC Shitty. * Bass strut with hushed vocals. Introspective lyrics about self-worth, an inevitable death, and feeling disconnected socially. Love it.
6. (3:02) Things that are bad for me (part 1). * More power pop. “Got to stop doing things that are bad for me…”
7. (4:06) Things that are bad for me (part 2). FCC. * Darker continuation of track 6. Catchy with heavy guitar riff. Gets a little noisy.
8. (3:06) Some people. Upbeat with poppy vocals. Trying to sound sweet... but gets better. Instrumentals after first chorus are fun and catchy.
9. (3:42) Grind my teeth. * Upbeat and fast. Melody changes half way through, becomes a dreamy, shoegaze-ish, heavy rock. Returns to fast pop punk.
10. (3:57) Whatever I want. * Electro-pop. Melody is so simple it is almost childish. Lyrics are also childish but it grows on you as the song develops.

Track Listing
1. I Want To Grow Up   6. Things That Are Bad For Me (Part 1)
2. Wild One   7. Things That Are Bad For Me (Part 2)
3. Tv   8. Some People
4. Pay Attention   9. Grind My Teeth
5. Deeper Than Love   10. Whatever I Want