Aerosols, The / Fake Mirror
Album: Fake Mirror   Collection:General
Artist:Aerosols, The   Added:Mar 2015
Label:World Famous In San Francisco  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2015-03-20 Pull Date: 2015-05-22
Week Ending: May 17 May 10 Apr 26 Apr 19 Apr 5 Mar 29
Airplays: 2 1 2 2 3 3

Recent Airplay
1. May 15, 2015: Time Traveler
Record City
4. Apr 24, 2015: Time Traveler
Record City
2. May 11, 2015: Shytown
All Right
5. Apr 21, 2015: In The Year One Thousand, Eight Thousand [SPQ03]
Record City
3. May 08, 2015: Time Traveler
Record City
6. Apr 18, 2015: Distractions
Record City

Album Review
Reviewed 2015-03-19
Local “basement psych-pop.” This is the Aerosols’ second release, a few years in the making, although they have been around for over a decade. It’s an enjoyable sunny-day album with lots of repeated hooks to space out to, and a very ‘60s psych rock feel. Many parts are in 3/4 or 7/8 time with three-chord electric foundations. Got a consistent sound across the album so if I said “trippy” too much, that’s why. FCC clean. Try 5, 6, 8
RIYL: Of Montreal, Thee Oh Sees, Vertical Scratchers, Girls, a trippier Kinks

1. (2:27) mid. catchy, upbeat and sunny, 60s vibe. this sound through entire album.
2. (3:19) mid. same feel as #1, awesome electric edge to it, ends abruptly
3. (3:16) fast. dancy/bouncy intro, keys everywhere, psychedelic carnival. definitely hear the Of Montreal influence here. another abrupt ending.
4. (2:40) mid. distorted intro and waterlogged trippy guitar, cascading chords
5. ***(3:55) mid to fast but ends slow. upbeat, (7/8), female vocalist answering? time shift during chorus throughout creates a melancholy feel... halfway through turns into a completely different, slower, more epic song until the fade out. kickass.
6. **(3:21) mid. higher notes on jangly guitars, “ahh”s in background, full band in chorus. “I feel like I was made in China/so far away.” really good.
7. (3:01) slow to mid. more deliberate pace, still three-chord structure, this time accompanied by three snares… cool beat…
8. **(4:16) slow to mid. dreamy intro. then the melody goes on this merry-go-round and adds keys, put me in a sort of trance. titled “She’s So Far Gone” and that would explain how I felt during this track, y’all. go ahead, space out.
9. (2:48) mid. bright, synthy, trippy, more of the same.
10. (2:55) slow. instrumental. pretty calm “ooh/ahh” stuff and then WOAH is that a fucking saxophone ?? welcome little surprise there.
11. (2:43) mid. trippy back-and-forth, repetitive melody. reminds me of #6. the end includes a vocal round and slows down with tremolo.

Track Listing
1. All Right   6. China
2. Fake Mirror   7. Don't Make Me Run
3. Mrs. Jinson   8. She's So Far Gone
4. Cold Jewelry   9. Outside Looking In
5. Record City   10. Icing
  11. Last Cup Of Tea