Mark Rogers & Mary Byrne / I Line My Days Along Your Weight
Album: I Line My Days Along Your Weight   Collection:General
Artist:Mark Rogers & Mary Byrne   Added:Feb 2015
Label:Important Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2015-04-03 Pull Date: 2015-06-05
Week Ending: May 31 May 17 May 3 Apr 26 Apr 12
Airplays: 1 2 1 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. May 29, 2015: Time Traveler
A Racing Heart
4. May 01, 2015: Narnia
When Your Elders Are Tall
2. May 14, 2015: Mountain Music
When Your Elders Are Tall
5. Apr 24, 2015: Narnia
When Your Elders Are Tall, First Fall Nights
3. May 13, 2015: The Fishbowl
When Your Elders Are Tall
6. Apr 24, 2015: Time Traveler
A Racing Heart

Album Review
Mr. Tumnus
Reviewed 2015-03-31
Folk, acoustic guitar, singer/songwriter, acoustic folk. What we have here is Mark playing the acoustic guitar and Mary singing. Occasionally Mary will also play the guitar or the piano. Simple, listenable, unpretentious stuff. This is their first album.

Most of the songs are pretty similar: the guitar arpeggiates up and down while Mary sings. This isn’t the sort of album that one listens to all the way through…that would get a bit tedious. Each individual song, though, is quite beautiful. Mark and Mary operate within a narrow aesthetic, and they rarely surprise you, but what they do, they do well.

I’d recommend this to anyone looking for a clean, acoustic, impeccably crafted song to add to a set. Try 1, 2 (FCC), 3, 4, 8—but especially 3.

1) “First Fall Nights” (3:17): Clever, catchy, sincere stuff. Plucking at the guitar, sitting on a country porch at twilight.
2) “Hospital” (4:44): (FCC: FUCK) Guitar rolls forward like a river. Gentle but not tuneless.
3) “When Your Elders Are Tall” (3:34): Mary’s voice sounds lovely on this one and it’s surprisingly catchy.
4) “A Racing Heart” (4:42): Voice opens alone—kind of eerie. Guitar comes in and the song becomes richer. Ending is instrumental.
5) “Green Gold Violet” (4:52): Guitar continues to pad forward.
6) “A Gracious Host” (3:24): I love the lyrics here—enigmatic but really evocative.
7) “Walk with Me” (3:39): Guitar gets some more virtuosic bits here.
8) “Cold Spring” (3:22): A brighter sound on this track: a nice change.
9) “Sirens Call” (3:59): More reflections on mortality.
10) “Sing a Fare Thee Well” (3:18): Again, a bit more upbeat.

—Mr. Tumnus

Track Listing
1. First Fall Nights   6. A Gracious Host
2. Hospital   7. Walk With Me
3. When Your Elders Are Tall   8. Cold Spring
4. A Racing Heart   9. Sirens Call
5. Green Gold Violet   10. Sing A Fare Thee Well