Geographer / Ghost Modern
Album: Ghost Modern   Collection:General
Artist:Geographer   Added:Feb 2015
Label:Roll Call Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2015-02-06 Pull Date: 2015-04-10
Week Ending: Apr 5 Mar 29 Mar 22 Mar 15 Mar 8 Mar 1 Feb 22 Feb 15
Airplays: 2 1 2 1 3 1 2 6

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 26, 2018: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
The Fire Is Coming, Too Much, Need
4. Oct 09, 2015: Time Traveler
I'm Ready
2. Jul 19, 2018: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
You Say You Love Me
5. Apr 03, 2015: Time Traveler
Too Much
3. Jul 14, 2018: Road Trip
I'm Ready
6. Apr 02, 2015: Meow
I'm Ready

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2015-02-05
“Ghost Modern” Geographer
San Francisco indie electro-pop artists, Geographer, will release their 3rd album, “Ghost Modern,” on March 10th. Geographer’s brand of electro-pop is intricate and, according to lead vocalist and multi-instrumentalist, Mike Deni, “past Postmodernism into something darker, something emptier: Ghost Modernism.” Songs have multiple layers of sonic surfaces and textures. Deni truly expresses his artistry in every composition — with sensitive, revealing lyrics and precisely produced arrangements. Other members of the band include cellist/electronics player, Nathan Blaz, and drummer/vocalist, Brian Ostreicher. The tracks can vary from fully orchestrated chamber pop with intermixed effects to catchy melodic pop — and everything in-between. The band will be appearing as part of Noise Pop 2015 at the Fox Theater in Oakland on Friday, February 27th.
— Francis

Recommended: 2, 5, 12, 3, 8, 9. No FCCs detected.

1. (0:43) Intro – Ghostly, synth-stringed introduction — very short.
2. (3:41) I’m Ready – Dynamic electro-pop with “swelling sonic structures” matched by Deni’s amazing vocal range. He glides effortlessly from his natural voice to soaring falsettos. Full string accompaniment. ****
3. (3:31) Need – Tribal sound. Bigger — closer to power pop. Tumbling timpani drums. Amazing vocal gymnastics. ***
4. (3:51) You Say You Love Me – Funky, syncopated indie rock. Pulsing synths, along with electronic effects. Cool arpeggios. Swirling lead break.
5. (4:23) Too Much – Mellow and lighter than air. Very luxurious. Another great example of how Deni glides through his vocal range. Becomes fully orchestrated — almost to the point of chamber pop. ****
6. (3:35) The Guest — Playful, bouncy tune. Relaxed tempo and effortless vocals. Builds in choruses with full orchestration, including brass (or synth brass).
7. (1:56) Read your Palm – Dreamy. Harp-like synths. Angelic vocals. Short tune.
8. (4:05) The Fire Is Coming – Complex, busy drum patterns. Fuzzy synths. Ominous vocals, relentlessly climbing. Guitar-driven lead break. ***
9. (4:04) Patience – Simple and austere. Glistening, almost Asian-sounding synth arpeggios. Delicate piano. Smooth vocals and strings. Very patient melody. ***
10. (3:29) Keep – Straight-ahead, melodic indie pop-rock. Intertwined pulsing synth and drum beats. Strong guitars.
11. (0:23) Interlude – Very, very short string interlude to set up last track.
12. (3:45) Falling Apart – Wistful composition with something of a world beat. Melody swells and builds. Creatively layered strings and guitar. Very introspective feeling. ***

Track Listing
1. Intro   7. Read Your Palm
2. I'm Ready   8. The Fire Is Coming
3. Need   9. Patience
4. You Say You Love Me   10. Keep
5. Too Much   11. Interlude
6. The Guest   12. Falling Apart