Parkay Quarts (Parquet Courts) / Content Nausea
Album: Content Nausea   Collection:General
Artist:Parkay Quarts (Parquet Courts)   Added:Feb 2015
Label:What's Your Rupture?  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2015-02-06 Pull Date: 2015-04-10
Week Ending: Mar 29 Mar 15 Mar 8 Mar 1 Feb 15
Airplays: 1 1 1 3 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 30, 2023: GORP
The Map, Content Nausea
4. Mar 10, 2015: The Fishbowl
Slide Machine
2. Oct 27, 2017: Quite Gnarly
Uncast Shadow Of A Southern Myth
5. Mar 02, 2015: Shytown
Uncast Shadow Of A Southern Myth
3. Mar 26, 2015: In The Year One Thousand, Eight Thousand: HotHotHot!!!
Content Nausea
6. Feb 27, 2015: The Sunset Life (Shayde Sartin and Sonny Smith are Cool Guys)
Uncast Shadow Of A Southern Myth

Album Review
Reviewed 2015-02-04
Indie Rock / Punk / Lo-fi. Fourth album by Parkay Quarts (usually Parquet Courts and sometimes PCPC). This is not the Parquet Courts of Light Up Gold. The album has many strange and short electronic/rock songs, is less punk, is no longer minimalist, and has more political and social commentary in the lyrics, e.g. content nausea and uncast shadow of a southern myth. Give it a shot is you liked Parkay Quarts’s (Parquet Courts’s) previous work. FCC Clean.

1. (2:56) *Everyday It Starts. “Every day it starts… anxiety”. Then harsh whining noise, then pulsating guitar and bass rock. Random noisy guitar solo. Mixed emotions about the lyrics. Cool instruments.
2. (3:04) **Content Nausea. Marching-ish drums, rolls, and heavy cymbal, constant high pitch guitar. Spoken lyrics, gets Meta. Lyrics are expressing the band’s exasperation with the constant barrage of metadata and pressure to consume new technologies.
3. (0:55) Urban Ease. Totally different sound. Synthy with heavy bass and drums. Instrumental.
4. (4:22) **Slide Machine. Mellow 909’s indie rock vibes. Somewhere between Yo La Tengo, Pavement, and Eddie Current. Guitar solo.
5. (0:59) Kevlar Walls. Instrumental song. Building heavy bass with poppy drums, a little dark.
6. (4:41) Pretty Machines. FCC "Bullshit". *** Poppy college / garage rock. Great tune. Upbeat and fun. Horns and tenor sax solo at end. Love it.
7. (2:53) Psycho Structures. Kind of like The Strokes but punk, monotone vocals, and darker.
8. (2:55) The Map. Noisy, spoken vocals, percussive and guitar fuzz.
9. (3:31) These Boots Are Made For Walking. Cover of a classic. Not so great.
10. (1:35) Insufferable. Playful whimsical punk, upbeat, and a little abrasive
11. (0:43) No Concept. More electro-rock, instrumental
12. (6:26) Uncast Shadow of a Southern Myth. ***Love it, pretty song. Political and social commentary on the American South – specifically Georgia and Tennessee, and tells a great story.

Track Listing
1. Everyday It Starts   7. Psycho Structures
2. Content Nausea   8. The Map
3. Urban Ease   9. These Boots Are Made For Walking
4. Slide Machine   10. Insufferable
5. Kevlar   11. No Concept
6. Pretty Machines   12. Uncast Shadow Of A Southern Myth