Chrome Hoof / Chrome Black Gold
Album: Chrome Black Gold   Collection:General
Artist:Chrome Hoof   Added:Jan 2015
Label:Cuneiform Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2015-01-23 Pull Date: 2015-03-27
Week Ending: Mar 29 Mar 22 Mar 15 Mar 1 Feb 22 Feb 15 Feb 8 Feb 1
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 27, 2021: Rebroadcast: Music Casserole
Tortured Craft
4. Mar 21, 2015: Music Casserole
Tortured Craft
2. Mar 11, 2016: Moonlight Impressions
5. Mar 10, 2015: In The Year One Thousand, Eight Thousand [W1509]
3. Mar 26, 2015: Meow
Tortured Craft
6. Feb 24, 2015: In The Year One Thousand, Eight Thousand [W1507]

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2015-01-20
High end experimental space-prog rock with emphasis on rock, being accessible strangely, with female vocals delivered in slick sci fi manner fit in (but are only in about half the songs, as noted) heavy use of synths. One moment it's reminding me of something new wave, Missing Persons or Devo, next something Zappa, then King Crimson, Gong, Birdsongs of the Mesozoic, then Shellac, then something aliens with technology fat more advanced than ours concocted.

1) (3:37) epic with organ, Bruford drums
2) (4:31) female vocs appear very slick, borders on slick prog electro pop, intense, glammy almost sounds sequenced
3) (5:13) intense rapid fire prog, almost speed metal, shifts to a gallop midway and vocs appear
4) (1:49) synth bass, simple synth led rock, almost a brief interlude
5)* (4:09) new wave feel strangely, accessible with epic big vocals, vibes solos reminds me of a 70's song I can't remember the name of for my life, then full on rick James funky synth solo
6) (5:47) rock, almost straight up, til it starts shifting around reminding you this is high end experimental prog
7) (4:10) vocals return, head nodding minor toned, shifts into some crazy heaviness
8) (2:52) runs a gamut
9) (1:33) quieter with piano
10)* (6:03) come blasting out the gate after a brief sample, shifts to a heavy beat and lo behold death metal type vocs appear, contrasted with angelic stuff, taking metal drama to another level
11) (1:52) begins with sample of sort then heavy synth led brief rock

Track Listing
1. Enter The Drobe   6. Ulitmate Sealed Unit
2. Knopheria   7. Exo Spektral
3. When The Lightning Strikes   8. Andromeda
4. Kestrel Dawn   9. Dysnomia
5. Tortured Craft   10. Varkada Blues
  11. Drobe Out