Tropics, The / Wind House
Album: Wind House   Collection:General
Artist:Tropics, The   Added:Jan 2015
Label:Breakup Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2015-02-06 Pull Date: 2015-04-10
Week Ending: Apr 5 Mar 22 Mar 15 Mar 8 Mar 1 Feb 22 Feb 15
Airplays: 1 2 2 1 1 3 4

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 01, 2015: Gegencang Show
The New King Of California, Sleepless, Fireproof
4. Mar 13, 2015: Time Traveler (Friday the 13th)
2. Mar 19, 2015: Mountain Music
You I Want
5. Mar 10, 2015: Emergency Crew fill in for Ramses
Sons & Daughters
3. Mar 17, 2015: The Fishbowl
6. Mar 05, 2015: Meow

Album Review
Reviewed 2015-01-26
The Tropics
Wind House

Local summery indie pop with soulful female vocalist. The Tropics are a five-piece that recently opened for Avi Buffalo. They had a great energy live, but unfortunately this release just does not stand out to me. Singer Claire George has a lovely and intriguing voice, like a smokier version of that one British pop singer… uh… Duffy, was her name? But for the most part, the backing band is kind of your average sunny guitar-driven indie pop. Moreover, the mixing makes it hard to understand the lyrics at key moments that could have enhanced these melodies.

FCCs: none detected. Favorites: 2.

1. (3:13) mid. snares, keys, tambourines. vaguely cheerful, “I never knew one better than you…” ending is underwhelming..
2. *(4:59) mid. darker, scratchier guitar and rolling toms. refrain has what I think is the best hook on this album. George’s voice elevates this tune in particular a great deal. just not a fan of their drummer… too much negative space at the bridge…
3. (3:23) slow to mid. breathier, clearer vocals including lots of “oohs” and “ahhs.” jangly guitars and horns.
4. (3:26) medium slow. static over background vox singing “no one else.” then uplifting acoustic picking, lovey dovey love song stuff.
5. (3:40) mid. poppy, sugary, bright. just ok.

Track Listing
1. Fireproof   3. Sleepless
2. Sons & Daughters   4. You I Want
  5. The New King Of California