Frog Eyes / Carey's Cold Spring
Album: Carey's Cold Spring   Collection:General
Artist:Frog Eyes   Added:Dec 2014
Label:Paper Bag Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-12-12 Pull Date: 2015-02-13
Week Ending: Feb 15 Feb 8 Feb 1 Jan 25 Jan 18 Jan 11 Jan 4 Dec 28
Airplays: 1 1 2 2 2 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 22, 2016: A Visit From Drum
The Road Is Long
4. Feb 05, 2015: A Visit From Drum
Needle In The Sun
2. Apr 30, 2015: A Visit From Drum
The Road Is Long
5. Jan 31, 2015: Music Casserole
The Road Is Long
3. Feb 12, 2015: Moonlight Impressions
Needle In The Sun
6. Jan 30, 2015: A Visit From Drum
The Road Is Long

Album Review
DJ Muscat
Reviewed 2014-12-12
A set of idiosyncratic indie rock songs grappling with mortality. Carey Mercer has been around for a while now in a number of projects (Frog Eyes, Blackout Beach, Swan Lake, etc.) and each one shares the same heart-on-sleeve vocal delivery and thoughtful lyrics. It’s hard for me to really evaluate this album because it means so much to me at this point, but I can’t recommend it enough. An album that grew out of deep loss. Carey was then diagnosed with throat cancer soon after it was released (thankfully he’s doing better now). Great album.

FCC: 7. Favorites: 1, 5, 2, 3, 9

Others: Sunset Rubdown, Destroyer, Wolf Parade

1. (5:46) **** Militaristic drum beat and amazing, emotional vocals. A cathartic mess. Favorite on the album.
2. (2:54) ** Short and energetic. Love the guitar tones on this track.
3. (3:39) ** Acoustic guitar intro. Turns alt-country with typical over-the-top vocals from Mercer. Great little transition midway through.
4. (4:44) Heavier track instrumentally but hopeful lyrics. A little weaker than others on the album.
5. (3:11) *** Awesome song. Driving, transcendent, and with amazing lyrics.
6. (3:24) Slower track. Most blatantly country track on the album and a little too repetitive without
7. (3:55) FCC “fuck”. Delicate beginning. Mercer gets introspective. Western movie guitar at the end.
8. (3:26) * Verbose lyrics and squiggly guitars. More of the same great stuff.
9. (4:42) ** Tortured introduction, but then grows and grows into a triumphant finish. “Nobody shall die”.

Track Listing
1. The Road Is Long   5. Needle In The Sun
2. Country Child   6. Noni's Got A Taste For The Bright Red Air Jordans
3. Holiday Treat   7. A Duration Of Starts And Lines That Form Code
4. Don't Give Up On Your Dreams   8. Seven Daughters
  9. Claxxon's Lament