Homeshake / In The Shower
Album: In The Shower   Collection:General
Artist:Homeshake   Added:Dec 2014

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-12-12 Pull Date: 2015-02-13
Week Ending: Feb 15 Feb 8 Feb 1 Jan 25 Jan 11 Dec 28 Dec 21
Airplays: 1 1 2 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 09, 2018: Tell Me I'm Pretty
4. Oct 11, 2018: regular school
Making A Fool Of You
2. Oct 29, 2018: regular school
Making A Fool Of You
5. Oct 06, 2017: Quite Gnarly
3. Oct 15, 2018: regular school
6. May 04, 2017: serenity now
Home At Last

Album Review
Reviewed 2014-12-15
In the Shower

Elements of chillwave with jazzy/funky instrumentation.
HOMESHAKE is the project of Peter Segar, artist Mac DeMarco’s former guitarist. This album follows the lo-fi Homeshake Tapes and was inspired by the cold winters of Montreal. In the Shower takes slacker-y chillwave, raises the production quality, adds guitars and then changes things up with R&B, jazz, and funk influences. The result is mellow and undeniably sexy, living up to the album name.
RIYL Mac Demarco, Washed Out, Neon Indian
FCCs: none of note though 9 might be best saved for after dark.
Play it soft. Favorites (*)= 2, 3, 7, 8, 10.

1. (2:41) Slow. Lo-fi open with creepy distorted male voice telling us to relax. Then sparse but very groovy guitar and laid-back drums. High-pitched + falsetto chorus.
2. *(3:29) Mid. Sultry prominent bass, toms, maracas, dissonance, echo-y high-pitched vox. last 50 seconds = electronic noise akin to some kind of nightmare carnival.
3. *(3:07) Slow. Echoes, nice and dreamy, somewhat retro. A more cheerful guitar solo plays over soft “doo dah” vocals. Ending = nightmare carnival. Distorted male voice comes back: “Sally, I’m so sorry, I couldn’t stop, I wasn’t strong enough.” It’s strange but hints at a narrative. I like it.
4. (3:22) Slow. Verrry funky/groovy tune. Totally R&B inspired. Didn’t love this track at first but it grows on you. Ending = alien abduction
5. (1:44) Mid. Instrumental. Higher notes, quicker than other tracks. More guitars come in, playful, call to each other. Quirky and catchy.
6. (3:03) Creepy Voice returns! Then: drums, slide guitar? creeping upwards like ivy along a building. High-pitched vox about wanting cash over girls. Ending = nightmare carnival
7. *(3:29) Slow. Drums, groovy, sensual, high vocals slurring sleazy words after last call. “Sun is up it’s gettin’ late/it’s time to go/I won’t remember what’s your name.” Last 45 s are nice, mellow instrumental.
8. **(2:55) Mid. Ooh, this is really nice. Yo La Tengo-esque vox. Hazy and dreamy despite faster tempo. You’re in a room with beaded doorways and iridescent gauze all over the place. And bubbles. Not sure where the bubbles came from. But there they are.
9. (2:50) Slow to mid. So this one’s called “The Shower Scene.” Creepy Voice lives up to his name, then we have an R&B-inspired guitar-led instrumental. Very chill. Ends with applause?.
10. *(3:12) Slow to mid. Mellow, full band, disjointed vocals shrouded in smoke. Great bass, but none of that overly funky stuff. Got a really great happy-sad sound. Nice closer to a set and to this album.

Track Listing
1. She Can't Leave Me Here Alone Tonight   6. Ca$H Is Money
2. Chowder   7. Okay
3. Doodah   8. Slow
4. Making A Fool Of You   9. The Shower Scene
5. Michael   10. Home At Last