Black Slate / World Citizen
Album: World Citizen   Collection:Reggae
Artist:Black Slate   Added:Nov 2014
Label:Unit Circle Rekkids  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2015-06-26 Pull Date: 2015-08-28 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Jul 26 Jul 12
Airplays: 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 12, 2021: Rebroadcast: Music Casserole
Feel Like A Man
3. Jul 09, 2015: Clean Copper Radio
2. Jul 25, 2015: Music Casserole
Feel Like A Man

Album Review
Be Sharp
Reviewed 2015-06-19

This old-school UK-based reggae act was formed in the ‘70s. The songs are reminiscent of Marley, Tosh, et al from that era; so faithful in fact, one wonders when does throw-back become tribute band, become novelty act? That said, this is a good record, and fun listening. Multiple singers provide variety; core band is often augmented by horns.

No FCC issues.

1 * Mid-tempo. A call for internationalism. Sounds much like a Wailers song. (4:49)
2 Mid-slow. An after-the-breakup song. A rap is included. (4:17)
3 ** Mid-tempo. Sweet love song with a “Two Little Birds” feel. Very nice vocals. (4:53)
4 Mid-fast. Wishing the world had more love. Meh. (4:03)
5 * Mid-tempo. Crime ballad. Pretty good, but not among best. Good horns. (4:48)
6 * Another call for love & understanding. Nice sax, horns, flute. Good singing. (4:00)
7 Mid-slow. Faux Classical music references. Big orchestration. Waste of time. (4:13)
8 Mid-tempo. A little theme goes ‘round and ‘round. Tired lyrics. (4:50)
9 Mid-fast. Smooth, soulful vocal over a heavy Reggae beat. (4:30)
10 Mid-tempo. R&B love song with multiple male vocal harmony. (5:07)
11 Mid-tempo. A joyful, spirited prayer to Jah. (3:29)
12 ** Mid-fast. Call & response by male voices: “Use your wisdom/Rise up/Stand up” Good instruments too, featuring interesting winds. Best song on the album. (4:11)
13 Mid-tempo. Instrumental version of track 1. Useful as a sound bed perhaps. (4:57)

Track Listing
1. World Citizenship   7. Mozart In Trenchtown
2. When I Think About It   8. Rasta Children
3. Living In The Footsteps   9. Step Right Up
4. Roots Love   10. Feel Like A Man
5. Postcode Gangster   11. Calling Jah
6. It's A Shame   12. Wisdom