Plant, Robert And The Sensational Space Shifters / Lullaby And...The Ceaseless Roar
Album: Lullaby And...The Ceaseless Roar   Collection:General
Artist:Plant, Robert And The Sensational Space Shifters   Added:Nov 2014
Label:Nonesuch Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-11-21 Pull Date: 2015-01-23
Week Ending: Jan 25 Jan 18 Jan 11 Jan 4 Dec 28 Dec 21 Dec 14 Dec 7
Airplays: 1 3 1 1 2 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 28, 2023: Hanging In The Boneyard
Little Maggie
4. Feb 22, 2020: Hanigng in the bone yard
Little Maggie
2. Oct 29, 2022: Hanging In The Boneyard
Little Maggie
5. Sep 22, 2018: Iron Skillet by way of Mix Tape
Little Maggie
3. Jul 28, 2022: Hanging In The Boneyard
Little Maggie
6. Aug 25, 2018: Hanging in the bone yard

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2014-11-18
“Lullaby and…The Ceaseless Roar” Robert Plant and the Sensational Space Shifters
The iconic Robert Plant — lead vocalist from Led Zeppelin — is another of those classic rockers who’s not only still recording, but also making great music. This is his tenth studio album in a solo career that now stretches more than 30 years. “Lullaby and…The Ceaseless Roar” is a set of mostly original songs (“Little Maggie” is a cover of a 1940s standard) that sees Plant merging rock, folk and world sensibilities and rhythms — with a dash of synthesizer and programmed beats — and coming up with an immensely satisfying musical experience. While those longing for the head-banging rock of his LZ days may be disappointed, this is more of a rock record than his most recent roots and country-driven album. And although the lyrics of several songs explore a recently failed relationship with a Texas folk singer-songwriter, this is not an album designed to chase away demons. It’s just honest, creative, world-flavored rock from an industry veteran.
— Francis

Recommended: 1, 2, 9, 6, 7, 4, 8 No FCCs detected.

1. (5:06) Little Maggie – Dizzying, mid-tempo folk-rock with a world vibe. African banjo (kologo). Tribal percussion. Airy vocals. Single-stringed, West African fiddle (ritti). All this gets wrapped up in pulsing, fuzzy synths toward the end. Great! ****
2. (4:18) Rainbow – Hypnotic, repetitive rhythms. Guitar. Soaring vocals. Really catchy melody. ****
3. (4:12) Pocketful of Golden – Whirling dervish of a rock song. Leisurely tempo with syncopated drums and flute-like ritti fiddle sounds heard from time to time.
4. (5:52) Embrace Another Fall – Mystical, Led Zeppelin-esque sounds over a drum-driven bed. Swirling synths. Distant, wistful vocals from Plant. Big guitar middle, followed by gentle, ethereal female vocals. **
5. (4:05) Turn It Up – Off-kilter beat, with interplay between prog guitar and complex world percussion. Edgy guitar licks layered in during lead breaks. Far-off, reverbed vocals.
6. (5:15) A Stolen Kiss – Celtic piano lullaby. Subtle melody. Crying synths. Introspective vocals about Plant’s recently ended relationship. Nice! ***
7. (4:32) Somebody There – Ringing guitars. Backbeat rhythm. Lyrics linger, looking back over Plant’s lifetime of experience. Strong guitar solo in lead break. ***
8. (4:13) Poor Howard – Folk-rock, again with a world flair. Lightly skipping African banjo and fiddle. Good use of backing chorus harmonies. **
9. (5:07) House of Love – Sprawling, melodic folk-rock with tom-toms thumping and Plant’s reassuring vocals over synth strings. Middle Eastern flavor to lead breaks. ***
10. (4:35) Up on the Hollow Hill (Understanding Arthur) – Mystical closer, with exotic world percussion, synths and some great guitar work.
11. (2:46) Arbaden (Maggie’s Babby) – Echo of album opener. Runaway train on a track. Swirling synths. African chants mixed with Plant’s vocals.

Track Listing
1. Little Maggie   6. A Stolen Kiss
2. Rainbow   7. Somebody There
3. Pocketful Of Golden   8. Poor Howard
4. Embrace Another Fall   9. House Of Love
5. Turn It Up   10. Up On The Hollow Hill (Understanding Arthur)
  11. Arbaden (Maggie's Baby)