Deerhoof / La Isla Bonita
Album: La Isla Bonita   Collection:General
Artist:Deerhoof   Added:Nov 2014
Label:Polyvinyl Record Co.  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-11-07 Pull Date: 2015-01-09
Week Ending: Jan 11 Jan 4 Dec 14 Dec 7 Nov 30 Nov 23 Nov 16 Nov 9
Airplays: 2 1 3 5 3 6 4 1

Recent Airplay
1. May 18, 2017: night tapes #5
Black Pitch
4. Apr 28, 2015: Daydream Disaster
Mirror Monster
2. May 06, 2016: A Visit From Drum (Closers)
Oh Bummer
5. Apr 23, 2015: The Sunset Life
Paradise Girls
3. Apr 19, 2016: does radio suck?
Paradise Girls
6. Jan 17, 2015: Music Casserole
Paradise Girls

Album Review
Zoe Rogers
Reviewed 2014-11-05
NEW DEERHOOF ALBUM!!!!! OK, for those of you who don't know, Deerhoof are an awesome and unbelievably weird band (actually SF natives). According to the promo materials, this is album number 13 for them, which is nuts. I was super excited to rock this in my car this week and it did not disappoint. Listen to the whole thing, and read the lyrics on the inside because you have no chance of figuring them out any other way. Hoping this gets a ton of airplay on KZSU.

Recommended tracks: **1**, 4, 5, 6, **7**, **10** (but you really cant go wrong...)

1. (3:35) Paradise Girls - First of all, I was pretty sure she was singing about smart cars...but she is singing about smart girls, and girls that play the bass guitar. So I was close? The guitar on this track is so awesome, and the whole thing is totally stuck in my head.
2. (2:40) Mirror Monster - Down tempo and super distorted and super beautiful.
3. (3:20) Doom - Great bass, uptempo. The lyrics are actually decipherable on this one! Classic Deerhoof instrumentation.
4. (3:04) Last Fad - This one is about Baseball, E.T., and "Sad Dollars." "TA DA!"
5. (3:29) Tiny Bubble - Mid tempo, awesome drums, and some really cool melt downs throughout.
6. (2:46) Exit Only - More of a garage punk feel. Love this one.
7. (3:28) Big House Waltz - Funky bass part, cool shuffling drum beat, lots of distortion, and some megaphone voice effects.
8. (1:43) God 2 - Instrumental track. Uptempo, sounds like Deerhoof :)
9. (3:24) Black Pitch - Super cool track, mid tempo, some echo effects on the vocals, another funkier track.
10. (4:25) Oh Bummer - First of all, I love this title. Last line of the album is "I'm sort of over it, what did you say?" Yeah it's awesome.

Track Listing
1. Paradise Girls   6. Exit Only
2. Mirror Monster   7. Big House Waltz
3. Doom   8. God 2
4. Last Fad   9. Black Pitch
5. Tiny Bubble   10. Oh Bummer