Code Orange / I Am King
Album: I Am King   Collection:General
Artist:Code Orange   Added:Oct 2014
Label:Deadwish Inc.  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2015-08-07 Pull Date: 2015-10-09
Week Ending: Oct 11 Oct 4 Sep 27 Sep 20 Sep 13 Aug 30 Aug 16
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 27, 2020: good boy sweater
My World
4. Mar 11, 2019: wig out at denny's
My World
2. Jun 10, 2019: indignant, insecure, in taco bell
My World
5. Dec 10, 2015: What was scene?
3. Mar 25, 2019: wig out at denny's
6. Nov 05, 2015: What was scene?

Album Review
jessica rylan
Reviewed 2015-07-24
I am King is the second full-length by Pittsburgh’s Code Orange (sometimes: Code Orange Kids), recorded and produced by Converge guitarist Jacob Bannon. The Converge influence is sometimes evident, particularly in the structure of tracks 3 and 7, but Code Orange are fully their own band, integrating freely from all forms of modern punk, hardcore, and “heavy music” (think Unwound) and cooking up a wicked stew. I’m particularly fond of the contrast between the three vocalist’s screaming styles, and the overall heaviness. But Code Orange can’t be pigeonholed as simply hardcore; the smoldering guitars and melodic vocals on track 3 would be a hit on any modern rock radio show. My favorite record of the last nine months by far! RIYL: Converge, Helmet, heavier 90’s subpop bands, cream of the crop.

FCCs: None that I noticed after MANY listens

Recommended: 3, 4, 6, 9, 1

1. Capsule history of modern punk, from dbeat to mid-90’s nyhc to blast beat to metalcore
2. Screaming over ragged bass, to a heaving uphill guitar riff and stuttering
3. Beautiful slow build to heavy rock, clean singing, timeless and genre-defying
4. Frantic opening to best single growl on the record (at :23), super raw section, to fast ending
5. excellent grunting and shouting over atonal riff
6. Super harsh minor seconds that get doubled by second guitar, to a lurching and dragging
7. heavy rock a la 90’s subpop with melodic sampled singing
8. short with some blast beats
9. really heavy syncopation like early helmet, awesome
10. Wailed clean vocals on chorus
11. Lots of rhythmic shifts, more excellent screaming

Track Listing
1. I Am King   6. My World
2. Slowburn   7. Starve
3. Dreams In Inertia   8. Your Body Is Ready...
4. Unclean Spirit   9. Thinners Of The Herd
5. Alone In A Room   10. Bind You
  11. Mercy