Rakta / Rakta
Album: Rakta   Collection:General
Artist:Rakta   Added:Oct 2014
Label:Dama Da Noite Discos/Nada Nada Discos  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-12-12 Pull Date: 2015-02-13
Week Ending: Feb 15 Feb 8 Feb 1 Jan 25 Jan 18 Jan 11 Jan 4 Dec 28
Airplays: 1 4 2 2 3 2 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 19, 2015: In The Year One Thousand, Eight Thousand [FQ158-1]
Take Your Time
4. Feb 05, 2015: The Sunset Life
Run To The Forest / Repetition
2. Jun 18, 2015: In The Year One Thousand, Eight Thousand: Other Sunsets
Take Your Time
5. Feb 05, 2015: Meow
Take Your Time
3. Feb 12, 2015: A Visit From Drum
Take Your Time
6. Feb 05, 2015: A Visit From Drum
Take Your Time

Album Review
Telepathic Juan
Reviewed 2014-12-09
Rio De Janeiro band Rakta’s self-titled debut is a cavernous and reverberant recording driven by intensity and frenzy. Taking clues from death rock and post-punk, Rakta’s sound brings together tribal beats, distorted vocals, and echoing guitars. The band is interested in finding equilibrium between repetition, expansion, and movement, according to a description of their sound on their Bandcamp page. Interestingly, as part of a larger global trend, Rakta decided to record this material not in Portuguese, but in English. This all female quartet’s self-titled album was first available on tape in 2013 and it has been released on vinyl in limited edition this year for global distribution. The band also extensively toured the United States this summer to promote their debut LP. Quem tem medo do monstro cor de rosa?

RIYL: Teenage Jesus and the Jerks, The Slits, XYX, Skeletal Family, and The Jesus & Mary Chain.

Recommended Tracks: 1, 2, and 4

1. (4:01) ***Run to the forest / Repetition – Energetic intro with upbeat drums, reverb vocals, and hypnotic atmosphere. Intense.
2. (2:55) **Life comes from death – Organ-driven track with echoing guitars and undecipherable vocals.
3. (3:25) Secret – XYX’s influence here. Dense, weird, and icy.
4. (2:42) ***Take your time – Post-Punk 101. Solid tune. Play it!
5. (6:00) Ganex / Black Mob – Great psych rock elements here. First half of song is lively and thrilling and second half is slow and repetitive; nevertheless interesting.
6. (6:00) Caverna – Noisy and experimental track that navigates between excess and chaos.

Track Listing
1. Run To The Forest / Repetition   4. Take Your Time
2. Life Comes From Death   5. Ganex / Black Mob
3. Secret   6. Caverna