Grmln / Soon Away
Album: Soon Away   Collection:General
Artist:Grmln   Added:Oct 2014
Label:Carpark Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-11-14 Pull Date: 2015-01-16
Week Ending: Nov 23
Airplays: 4

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 30, 2022: Lunar Echoes
Jaded, White Lung//Black Lung
4. Nov 21, 2014: Time Traveler
2. Apr 17, 2022: Lunar Echoes
Of Nothing
5. Nov 20, 2014: Meow
Of Nothing
3. Nov 21, 2014: Buford J. Sharkley Presents: As Told to Hervey Okkles
6. Nov 17, 2014: in The Year One Thousand, Eight Thousand
Yamero, Jaded

Album Review
Reviewed 2014-11-02
Aggressive, energetic pop-punk anthems in the spirit of teenage rebellion. GRMLN is the name of 21-year-old Yoodoo Park, a Japanese transplant to Southern California. His first effort Explore EP has the region’s trademark lazy summer feel all over it, in the vein of Real Estate and Beach Fossils. 2013’s Empire saw a shift to charged ‘90s-inspired pop-punk, and Soon Away is a move in the same direction. This album is mostly intense, urgent and guitar-driven pop, with youthful lyrics about love and loss and learning to accept change. Catchy and spirited throughout.

Favorites: 7, 8, 9. FCC clean.
RIYL Best Coast, Crocodiles

1. (4:00) In-your-face opener. Loud, fast, snare drums and screeching guitars set the tone for lyrics about the desire for post-heartbreak liberation. “I never wanted time with you.”
2. (3:40) Fast tempo, strong bassline throughout this song, perfect for power chords to whine over. Simple pop hooks. A nice touch when a flurry of static grows louder to mirror the words “I can’t avoid it anymore.”
3. (4:36) Fast, a soaring riff, pounding drums. The words “breaking down” are repeated throughout but sonically this one is more like breaking free.
4. (4:04) Mid-tempo. Noisy yet cheery guitars over calmer, less urgent drum beats than before. Like much of this album, sounds optimistic despite tales of romantic rejection.
5. (3:17) Fast. Opens with a quiet, spoken line, before breaking into another bright riff, charged drums. The speaking voice comes back in the bridge to add an extra layer.
6. (3:49) Fast. Surf-rock-y. A lone guitar explodes into the full band. Self-reflective.
7. *(4:56) Mid. Main riff is lower and darker, the singing less forceful, overall less intense and more cautious than previous tracks.
8. *(2:47) Fast, bright yet jaded-sounding guitar, pleading with an unknown figure. “Yamero,” say the title and refrain: Japanese for “stop it.”
9. *(4:26) Mid. High notes in the intro sound like the beginning of a Killers song. Bass with a creative drum fill makes up the verses, chorus goes back to high notes again.
10. (3:19) Title track, reflects the album’s overall mood of urgency and not so much anger as determination to form anew. Starts fast, verses are mid-tempo bass+drums.

Track Listing
1. Jaded   6. Awake
2. Avoider   7. Of Nothing
3. White Lung//Black Lung   8. Yamero
4. Numb   9. Faux
5. Crawling Into You   10. Soon Away