Purling Hiss / Weirdon
Album: Weirdon   Collection:General
Artist:Purling Hiss   Added:Oct 2014
Label:Drag City  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-10-31 Pull Date: 2015-01-02
Week Ending: Dec 21 Dec 14 Nov 30 Nov 23 Nov 16 Nov 9
Airplays: 1 1 2 1 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 18, 2014: Meow
Focefield Of Solitude
4. Nov 27, 2014: Meow
2. Dec 11, 2014: The Sunset Life
Another Silvermoon
5. Nov 21, 2014: Buford J. Sharkley Presents: As Told to Hervey Okkles
Learning Slowly
3. Nov 28, 2014: Street Hassle
Another Silvermoon
6. Nov 14, 2014: Buford J. Sharkley Presents: As Told to Hervey Okkles
Aging Faces

Album Review
Reviewed 2014-10-29
‘90s-style garage rock that’s cleaning up but still not used to wearing a suit. Philadelphia-based Purling Hiss and frontman Mike Polizze demonstrate both noisy pop and grungy sensibilities on this catchy, guitar-driven album. Rousing and jaded at the same time, with some great variation among the tracks.
Favorites: 4, 5, 8, 10, 11. FCC Clean.
RIYL Beck, Dandy Warhols, Pavement

1. (3:41) Mid-tempo. Grungy but benign guitars enter, lead to a cheerful and upbeat melody. Perfect opening track that keeps things light + summery for a drive.
2. (2:07) Mid to fast. Playful, up-and-down, and very relaxed. Abstract lyrics repeating the phrase “no more lies.” The title “Sundance Saloon Boogie” is most apt.
3. (4:58) Mid to fast. Noisy riff leads into full band again. Lyrics about nothing and everything, “learning slowly, treading slightly.” Prominent bass in the chorus and an uplifting solo drive this tune. Punky, static Sunday.
4. *(6:03) Starts with some darker chords and more of a nasal drawl in the singing. High keys join in and take us to a dreamy, somewhat bittersweet-sounding chorus. Around 3:00 a long, psychedelic jam begins and lead guitar shines. Mid-tempo. Possibly my favorite.
5. *(5:22) Slow, acoustic, maracas?, would sound just right on Beck’s One Foot in the Grave as it has that folky blend of cheer and melancholy just right in its use of dissonance. “I am trying to escape my mind.”
6. (2:20) Loud, mid- to fast, whining and energetic lead-in. The chorus is garage pop perfection. “I’ve got no reservations/ got nowhere I belong/ I’ve got no inhibitions/ there’s nowhere to belong.” Drifting but living it up in the in-between.
7. (2:51) Pounding snares, straight into vocals: “aging fast/changing slow.” Describes a lot of bands that cling to a youthful sound as they get older, doesn’t it? Another lazy-sounding but pretty catchy shrug to the coming of age.
8. *(3:54) Mid. Call-and-response vocals. Mellow with a great little twang at the end of each line. Chorus comes as a conversation between the drifter and society. The latter, urging, “it’ll fix you right,” answered by a defiant chant of “I Don’t Wanna Be A…!”, the title of this track.
9. (1:25) Fast, loud drums, clean pop-punk, no time to slow down. “This is my radio!”
10. *(3:08) Slow. This is our breather after the previous track. Gentle, soft, acoustic, dreamy. The guitar that comes in at the 2:00 bridge is darker and brings it down a notch from lullaby.
11. *(7:59) Mid. High, soaring, glorious-sounding riff leads us into some low vocals. This one wanders along in grungeville until that buoyancy returns in the chorus. Then it takes over the track and goes on a journey of its own. The result is a honey-colored celebration of exploration itself, of the right to roam without an end.

Track Listing
1. Focefield Of Solitude   6. Where's Sweetboy
2. Sundance Saloon Boogie   7. Aging Faces
3. Learning Slowly   8. I Dont Wanna Be A ...
4. Another Silvermoon   9. Airwaves
5. Reptili-A-Genda   10. Running Through My Dreams
  11. Six Ways To Sunday