Neo-Kalashnikovs, The / She's On Heat
Album: She's On Heat   Collection:General
Artist:Neo-Kalashnikovs, The   Added:Sep 2014

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-09-26 Pull Date: 2014-11-28
Week Ending: Nov 30 Nov 23 Nov 16 Nov 2 Oct 26 Oct 19 Oct 12 Oct 5
Airplays: 2 1 2 2 1 1 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 01, 2015: Meow: The Best Of 2014
Shining Star
4. Nov 20, 2014: Meow
Shining Star
2. Nov 27, 2014: Meow
Turn The Tables
5. Nov 13, 2014: Meow
Shining Star
3. Nov 24, 2014: Clean Copper Radio
Shining Star
6. Nov 13, 2014: The Fishbowl
I Don't Wanna Be Your Friend

Album Review
Mr. Tumnus
Reviewed 2014-09-25
Alt rock. The Neo-Kalashnikovs are a new band from Auckland, New Zealand. Three siblings making music together. Clearly enunciated, powerful female vox soaring over guitar and drum. Lots of power guitar on this album: growly, sometimes fuzzy. Repetitive (but catchy!) riffs. The vocalist is really quite good.

Definitely check this one out. There are some great singles on here.

No FCCs. Recommended: 5, 2, 1, 14, 7

1) “Turn the Tables” (2:45): Relentlessly methodical, catchy rhythm.
2) “Gorgeous Baby” (4:21): Gentle lyrics, with some light tapping of the cymbals in the background. If you’re interested, there’s an atrocious music video online.
3) “To Russia” (3:46): “I want to go to Russia.” Perfect if you have a Russia-themed show?
4) “Diamonds” (3:18): Great, explosive chorus.
5) “Shining Star” (3:54): Unexpectedly rich sound. Is that banjo and violin in the background? Unlike the other songs on the album. Superb.
6) “Treat Me Right” (3:22): A song about jealousy.
7) “I Don’t Wanna Be Your Friend” (4:00): “I don’t want to be your friend / I wanna be lovers instead.”
8) “Paranoia” (3:58): Great growly guitar, nice use of piano. One of the more complex songs on the album.
9) “Run My Way” (4:10): A disjointed, but fascinating mix of piano and guitar.
10) “Heartstrings” (2:46): “I can only be what I can be / So stop pulling on my heartstrings.”
11) “Tell You What I Wanna” (3:02): A song about domestic violence. Somehow this song seems more lo-fi than the rest of the album? Could this be my imagination?
12) “Bohemia” (3:42): A song dedicated to a rocker who passed away.
13) “Take It or Leave It” (3:20): Flirty, lighter song.
14) “Blue Lithium” (3:44): This song is rougher around the edges and more unstable on its feet. I rather liked it.

--Mr. Tumnus

Track Listing
1. Turn The Tables   5. Shining Star
2. Gorgeous Baby   6. Treat Me Right
3. To Russia   7. I Don't Wanna Be Your Friend
4. Diamonds   8. Paranoia
  9. Run My Way