Mascis, J / Tied To A Star
Album: Tied To A Star   Collection:General
Artist:Mascis, J   Added:Aug 2014
Label:Sub Pop Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-09-05 Pull Date: 2014-11-07
Week Ending: Nov 9 Nov 2 Oct 19 Oct 5 Sep 21 Sep 14 Sep 7
Airplays: 2 3 1 3 1 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 02, 2023: Down in the Basement
Come Down
4. Nov 03, 2014: In The Year One Thousand, Eight Thousand
Every Morning
2. Jan 12, 2023: Down in the Basement
Come Down
5. Nov 01, 2014: Clean Copper Radio
And Then
3. Nov 06, 2014: ZoeRadio
Heal The Star
6. Oct 30, 2014: ZoeRadio
Come Down

Album Review
Reviewed 2014-09-03
It's time for a new J Mascis solo record!! We should all be extremely excited. Also known as the singer in Dinosaur Jr. with the creaky voice, J has put out several great solo records in the past and this one does not disappoint. Beautiful instrumentation, amazing lyrics, haunting and catchy melodies, and that voice. I am very happy to have this album in the library and I hope that it gets played often. I suggest spending some time with this album in a nice pair of headphones. Easy to get lost in.


Recommended tracks: PLAY THEM ALL!!!

1. (4:24) Me Again - Starts with just guitar and J Mascis, more instruments build in (a little) about half way through the song. But the simplicity of this track mixed with the complexity of the melody and the words...ahhhh I love him :) Great start.
2. (3:57) Every Morning - Up tempo, full drums in this one, another great song.
3. (4:34) Heal The Star - Mid-tempo, more of a crooner (if you can call it that), at least a bit more of a distant feel to this one.
4. (3:30) Wide Awake - Very pretty guitar on this one, equipped with another awesomely pretty melody.
5. (3:30) Stumble - Distorted guitars, falsetto, you know the drill.
6. (4:14) And Then - Down/Mid. Love love this one. So good, so pretty. Really cool harmonies, interesting switches in instrumentation throughout.
7. (2:47) Drifter - Twangy guitar instrumental track.
8. (4:20) Trailing Off - Mid. Guitar and vocals only, I really really love how intricate the guitar is on this album and this is another excellent example of that.
9. (5:33) Come Down - Another falsetto track, with more of that pretty guitar but some added sounds of distortion and echo effects.
10. (3:51) Better Plane - More straight forward strumming of the guitar on this last track. Builds about half way through.

Track Listing
1. Me Again   6. And Then
2. Every Morning   7. Drifter
3. Heal The Star   8. Trailing Off
4. Wide Awake   9. Come Down
5. Stumble   10. Better Plane