Basement Jaxx / Junto
Album: Junto   Collection:General
Artist:Basement Jaxx   Added:Aug 2014
Label:Atlantic Jaxx  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-09-12 Pull Date: 2014-11-14
Week Ending: Nov 16 Nov 9 Oct 26 Oct 19 Oct 12 Oct 5 Sep 28
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 03, 2022: Pumping Iron (rebroadcast from Apr 2, 2018)
4. Oct 10, 2019: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
Mermaid Of Salinas
2. Jan 28, 2022: Pumping Iron (rebroadcast from Apr 2, 2018)
5. Apr 02, 2018: Pumping Iron
3. Dec 05, 2019: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
6. Dec 25, 2017: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Sweatpants!

Album Review
Henry Hinton
Reviewed 2014-09-11
Basement Jaxx released their first studio album, "Remedy," in 1999. Junto, their latest, is a mixture of references to their earlier years (and bangers) and sunnier tracks perfect for daytime parties. I can imagine throwing this on at a BBQ and not getting kicked off because somebody wasn't in the mood for dark stuff at 2 in the afternoon :D

Overall, fantastic album- particularly 3,6,7, and 12. Go have a blast!

1. "Intro" 1:16 Excellent way to set the album's flow. Taiko into afro-caribbean drum patterns.
2. "Power to the People" ft. Niara 5:36 Big, booming bass and Caribbean instruments on top of Niara's powerful vocals. Think Ibiza party music.
3. ***"Unicorn" 4:10 Soulful house that takes you back to the roots. JAM!
4. "Never Say Never" ft. ETML 4:23 Good daytime house- upbeat, lows aren't overwhelming, and the piano backing is superb.
5. "We Are Not Alone" 3:42 Crispy synths tie passionate fem. vox and driving bassline.
6. **"What's the News" 4:50 Bass drum reminds me of something from the Dirtybird BBQ- "I came to party, you came to party, so what's the news?"
7. *"Summer Dem" ft. Patricia Panther 3:52 Funky! Sexy! P.P's Glasgow accent meshes really well in this revamped late-80s funk.
8. "Buffalo" ft. Mykki Blanco 2:27 DNB insanity... take that how you will. A lot of energy in a short track (vocal hook is repeated twice and that's it).
9. "Rock This Road" ft. Shakka 3:50 More UK/World vibes. Chill break evens it out.
10. "Sneakin' Toronto" 4:13 Standard house with sweeping bass. Good filler track.
11. "Something About You" 3:45 Lady Leshurr brings breathy vocals to a poppy/HH/R&B drum pattern.
12. ** "Mermaid of Salinas" ft. Nina Miranda 5:51 Latin house! Very similar to BJxx's Samba Magic, but with even bigger bass!
13. "Love Is At Your Side" 4:27 Electronica vibe with a hint of world to close out the album.

Track Listing
1. Intro   7. Summer Dem
2. Power To The People   8. Buffalo
3. Unicorn   9. Rock This Road
4. Never Say Never   10. Sneakin' Toronto
5. We Are Not Alone   11. Something About You
6. What's The News   12. Mermaid Of Salinas
  13. Love Is At Your Side