People's Temple, The / Musical Garden
Album: Musical Garden   Collection:General
Artist:People's Temple, The   Added:Aug 2014
Label:Hozac Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-08-29 Pull Date: 2014-10-31
Week Ending: Nov 2 Oct 19 Oct 12 Oct 5 Sep 7
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 30, 2014: Meow
I Don't Mind (Reprise)
4. Oct 01, 2014: Narnia
Speak No More
2. Oct 15, 2014: Narnia
Fast Thrills, Smooth Moves
5. Sep 06, 2014: Chillin' with Chelsea
Smooth Moves
3. Oct 08, 2014: Narnia
Fast Thrills
6. Sep 03, 2014: Brownian Motion
I Heard You Singing (In The Other Room)

Album Review
Mr. Tumnus
Reviewed 2014-08-27
Psychedelic rock, with a touch of punk around the edges. Snappy songs with a rocking guitar and a heavy dose of fuzzy atmosphere. Most of the songs are just two minutes long, so it wouldn’t be difficult to squeeze one into a set, and they provide a nice dose of energy. Some of the songs feel a little underdeveloped, a little curt; but most are a rollicking good time. Expect simple lyrics and heavy dose of guitar.

Recommended: 5, 12, 8, 1, 3. No FCCs.

1) “Crimson Rose” (2:16): Voice and guitar do a nice job of complementing each other here.
2) “Smooth Moves” (2:59): “When I saw you / I just had to have you / You’re so smooooth / But I know what to do.”
3) “Handsome Nick” (2:25): Nice, driving guitar propels everything forward.
4) “I Heard You Singing” (1:49): Distorted voices murmur in the background.
5) “I Don’t Mind (Prelude)” (1:25): Chanting, vocal harmonies. Ethereal and beautiful, if a little short.
6) “Good Times, Bad Luck” (2:36): Catchy chorus.
7) “Male Secretary” (1:54): A song dedicated to male secretaries. It sounds fun, but I thought it dragged a little.
8) “Fast Thrills” (1:55): A rockin’ instrumental track. Definitely some fast thrills here.
9) “Back To Zero” (2:09): Nice track. Ends with a longish instrumental section.
10) “If You Wanna Roll” (3:10): “If you want to roll, you can roll me.” Good song to listen to in your car.
11) “Masters Touch” (1:51): Uptempo song with heavy drums.
12) “Speak No More” (2:07): Kind of an oddball song on the album, with more of a punky flavor.
13) “Dreamer” (2:58): This song is a little slower and thicker, with lots of guitar hooks. Watch out for a very strange last ten seconds.

--Mr. Tumnus

Track Listing
1. Crimson Rose   7. Male Secretary
2. Smooth Moves   8. Fast Thrills
3. Handsome Nick   9. Back To Zero
4. I Heard You Singing (In The Other Room)   10. If You Wanna Roll
5. I Don't Mind (Reprise)   11. Masters Touch
6. Good Times, Bad Luck   12. Speak No More
  13. The Dreamer