Tiersen, Yann / Infinity
Album: Infinity   Collection:General
Artist:Tiersen, Yann   Added:Aug 2014
Label:Mute Artists Limited  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-08-22 Pull Date: 2014-10-24
Week Ending: Oct 19 Oct 12 Oct 5 Sep 21 Aug 31
Airplays: 1 2 1 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 16, 2014: Meow
4. Oct 01, 2014: Narnia
Slippery Stones, ∞
2. Oct 11, 2014: BravoMarco Variety Show
5. Sep 18, 2014: Amber Waves
Slippery Stones
3. Oct 08, 2014: In The Year One Thousand, Eight Thousand
A Midsummer Evening
6. Aug 28, 2014: Homeward Bound

Album Review
Reviewed 2014-08-25
Frenchman Yann Tiersen’s latest work. Clever narration over overwhelming and enveloping neo-classical hums. Build-ups that’ll put you in a trance.
No FCCs detected. Recommended: All good, but I really like the Scottish voice in track 1.

1. **(6:49) Soothing hum, with poetic Scottish narration. Percussions, strings, and various jingles join in as the track progresses. Last two minutes are quieter.
2. (5:43) Rapid wind chimes with a swarm of bees. Builds up towards a more cheerful sound with guitar and percussions. Background choir-like vocals come in midway.
3. (5:13) Dark, gloomy ambiance. Relaxes after a couple minutes. Sounds like a disheveled orchestra then progresses towards a multi-layered atmosphere with female vox.
4 .(4:15) Cinematic, stressful, rhythmic. Female voice narrates in a foreign language. + English. Fuzz/percussions/bleep-bloop sounds.
5. (5:24) Hopeful strings with accordion-like sound. Transitions to a jumpy, happy, environment layered with ethereal vocals and cyclic strings. Has a bit of a light metal *clink* feel.
6. (3:41) Slightly off-key ambience. Makes me think of a broken toy trying to play a song. Group vocals come in later with fast-paced, growing layered whirr.
7. (6:53) Another narrated track. Ghostly wind-chimes with subtly enveloping choppy strings. Becomes greatly animated as the track progresses. Last couple seconds are sound effects.
8. (4:14) Dark and morose. Feels like a tense scene in a movie, until some strange discordant jingles appear over a simple piano tune. Suddenly picks up with happy vocals.
9. (4:18) Rain sounds first part of the track. Combined male + female voices over light waves. Slows down midway and transitions towards a simple guitar following the same theme.
10. (2:59) Ominous, dark waves flow over the listener. Feels like standing in front of an immense wall/structure or inside a very large warehouse. Choppy strings come in halfway.

Track Listing
1. ∞   6. Grønjørd
2. Slippery Stones   7. Steinn
3. A Midsummer Evening   8. In Our Minds
4. Ar Maen Bihan   9. The Crossing
5. Lights   10. Meterorites