Ephemerals / Nothing Is Easy
Album: Nothing Is Easy   Collection:General
Artist:Ephemerals   Added:Aug 2014
Label:Jalapeno Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-08-22 Pull Date: 2014-10-24
Week Ending: Oct 19 Aug 31 Aug 24
Airplays: 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 16, 2014: Meow
Things (Part 1)
3. Aug 23, 2014: Box of Chocolates
Things (Part 1)
2. Aug 28, 2014: Homeward Bound
You Made Us Change
4. Aug 23, 2014: Fishbowl
You Made Us Change

Album Review
Matthew Chambers
Reviewed 2014-08-20
Ephemeral, Nothing Is Easy. Soul / neo-soul/ r&b. Ephemeral is an international group of musicians based in London and fronted by lead singer Wolf. Nothing is Easy is their first release. Hopefully they will give us more. It is solid album with a great throwback to classic soul feel. Only thing that kept me from loving it is the lyrics. Some are forgettable at best. RIYL: Aloe Blacc, Hannah Williams and the Tastemakers. No FCC violations on any track. -Matthew

1. (4:08) **Soulful, funky guitar and piano. Old school soul feel. “Baby been thinking lately, ‘bout what you been saying, ‘bout startin a family” hilarious when he lists costs of having children like education and medication. Horn section.
2.(3:25) ***Mid tempo, horns and old school feel. Piano gives soft touch, vocals are fantastic.
3. (2:36) Horn section, keyboard, percussion, guitar. “Something different”. Mid tempo. Back up singers whisper chorus or respond to singer.
4. (2:52) **Same description as above. Variation of the same theme. I really like the mid tempo pace and feel of this song. Short trumpet solos.
5. (4:17) Ain’t no mountain high enough kind of lyrics. Guarantee’s his lovin. Slower, dance to this one, but gets no stars because the chorus is pretty bad.
6. (3:14) Instrumental groove. organ solo.
7. (4:51) Slow tempo. Vocals make it a little bluesy. Big trumpet and organ trill after chorus. “Oh baby I’m missing you.”
8. (3:32) Big sound from background singers. Funky organ and guitar.
9. (3:42) *Upbeat strut. Instrumental and great.
10. (4:12) *Oh yeah, positive old timey soul. “Life is good.” “We got skills, knowledge, and technology.” Saw this on a t-shirt once, inspired a song.

Track Listing
1. Things (Part 1)   6. The Oligarch
2. You Made Us Change   7. Six Days A Week
3. Call It What You Want   8. I'm Your Man
4. Easy Ain't Nothing   9. Brixton Girls
5. Loving Guaranteed   10. Life Is Good